Seventeen Woo!

Its my birthday today!

Yay! As of around four o’clock this morning I turned seventeen. My day was pretty mellow though, I had to go to school so even though its my birthday it doesn’t really feel like my birthday. My mom this morning got me a beautiful card and the most adorable charm bracelet that I was dying to own! I love you mom, thank you!

my new coach bracelet

my new coach bracelet

My mom also said that she got me some other goodies too that I can have when she comes home from work. So were going to watch a movie and just hang out for a little bit, maybe play a board game. It should be alot of fun.

Recently my cell phone broke, so last night as a little birthday present to myself I went to the Alltel store and got myself  a new phone. I got the LG Banter and boy is it cool! It has so many features and the layout of the phone is really nice. I was playing with it all last night, even though I should have been studying for my algebra final! Also my books from amazon came in that my mom ordered! We got a new copy Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen and Ani’s Dessert Book. The recipes in the dessert book look amazing! I cant wait for some special occasions so I can try a couple of them out.

For dinner last night I made one of my favorite recipes from Ani Phyo’s cookbook. Its called Red Pepper Corn Salsa and it is so good.

Sweet and Spicy Peppercorn Salsa

Sweet and Spicy Peppercorn Salsa

Red Pepper Corn Salsa

1/2 cup red bell pepper – chopped

1 cup sweet corn kernels – cut from the cob

1/2 cup tomatoes – diced

1/4 cup scallions – chopped

1 clove garlic

1/2 cup cilantro – chopped

1/2 jalapeno pepper – chopped

1 teaspoon sea salt

Directions – simply places ingredients into a bowl, mix well. Will keep for up to two days in the fridge.

The only things I did differently was I used a whole pepper because I like my food extra spicy, and I added some white mushrooms to give the salsa a nice meaty texture. I also left out the sea salt and the garlic. The thing I love about this salsa is that it tastes crisp and fresh every time you make it, and you can do so much with it. Last night for example I made it into wraps using collard green leaves. I have also mixed it with my homemade marinara to give it a little extra kick. Yum! : )

my tasty wraps!

my tasty wraps!

Here is a link to Ani Phyo’s website check it out! Her books are great wether or not you are raw, vegan or anywhere in between. Her recipes are easy to follow and super yummy to boot.

 http://www.aniphyo.com/

Another thing that I have been thinking about more and more lately is the large amounts of carrot pulp that I am throwing away from my morning juices. It seems to be such a waste, so one of the projects that I am working on now is coming up with a few recipes that use the carrot pulp. I am thinking my first attempt with it will be making some sort of a mock tuna fish – ill keep you guys updated on my progress with this. If you have any suggestions or recipes that you would like to see just let me know.

Well, I am off to study for chemistry and algebra III. Only two days of school left and then I am out for the summer. I cannot wait!

Michal

3 comments

  1. Happy birthday!!!! Enjoy. 🙂

    1. aww thank you so much! 🙂

  2. Happy belated birthday 🙂

Leave a Reply

