Vegan Goodies!

TGIF!

Hey guys! I want to start off today by sharing pictures from the vegan potluck that I attended on Wednesday.

Look at all the yummy food...

Look at all the yummy food...

another picture!

another picture!

The main thing that I love about our monthly get together is that everyone is so nice, and the conversation is great. The five of us meet once a month and we all bring food and books, and lots to talk about. I am the youngest of course but I am honestly so glad that I have met these women because they are all so talented, creative and inspiring. Now lets talk a little more about the food!

baked veggies with a glaze and herb roasted eggplant

baked veggies with a glaze and herb roasted eggplant

Quinoa salad and a bean dish with corn and peppers

Quinoa salad and a bean dish with corn and peppers

whole grain oatmeal cinnamon raisin cookies

whole grain oatmeal cinnamon raisin cookies

My personal favorite of the night…

pea sprouts with lettuce and radishes with a homemade mustard vinegrette

pea sprouts with lettuce and radishes with a homemade mustard vinaigrette

And a picture of me with the salad that I brought! In it I had tons of fresh spinach, carrots, cucumbers, red pepper, red onion, scallions, chili peppers and jicama.

yup there's me : )

yup there's me : )

With me I also brought an avocado and a tomato to round out the salads. After three heaping plates of my salad and my good friend Karla’s salad I was stuffed to the gills. Right at the end of our potluck we lost power due to really bad thunderstorm’s in the area. But other than that everything was lovely. I am looking forward to next month’s potluck which will be held on July 8 – and guess what the theme is? RAW FOOD! I brought with me Ani Phyo’s book and everyone really enjoyed looking through them and decided that next month everyone is going to make raw vegan recipes. Boy-o-boy am I looking forward to next month! Now I just have to figure out what I am going to make. If you have a favorite recipe or suggestion let me know – I would love to hear them!

A little update on my fitness challenge – I haven’t been able to go on my usual morning walks because of the icky weather and I am really missing them. But my new yoga mat is sure getting a lot of use! I found a really neat website called The Yoga Journal. This website has tons great articles for beginners, as well as advanced practicing yogis. In addition it has this really cool tool that you can use to build your own yoga sequence then print it out!

Well im off – Im going to grab a snack before I have to start getting ready for work.

Michal

2 comments

  1. hi Michal!
    I just read your blog (such a cute name) , and I love it! You are doing a great job:)
    Happy (belated) Birthday!
    I love the picture of you and your salad…both so beautiful!!!
    I look forward to trying some of your recipes.

    1. thanks evergreen for your kind words – im so glad you like my blog ( :

Leave a Reply

