Happy Days…

Happy Fathers Day!

I hope you all are enjoying your day and celebrating it with those you love!

I myself am having a really nice day. This morning I was at my driving classes from 9 to 1. I still can’t believe that I am going to be getting my license in a matter of weeks! After classes my mom and I went to my grandparents house to visit for fathers day. My grandpa has been the prominent father figure in my life and I love him so much. Sometimes I feel that I never really get a chance to express to him just how much he means to me, so I figured that today was the perfect day to do just that. I baked him his favorite cake (no its not raw or vegan but I am proud of how it turned out I just had to share!) which is a Pineapple Upside Down Cake.

my first pineapple upside down cake!

my first pineapple upside down cake!

 Everyone really seemed to enjoy eating it. I love cooking and baking for others and seeing their reactions – that first bite is my favorite part. Now lets talk about food!

Raw Sea Kelp Noodles

Raw Sea Kelp Noodles

I have a new review for you guys! Its for one of my personal favorite food products on the market – Sea Kelp Noodles.

Sea Kelp Noodles have to be one of the yummiest things on the planet. Kelp Noodles are a sea vegetable in the form of an easy to eat raw noodle. Made of only kelp (a sea vegetable), sodium alginate (sodium salt extracted from a brown seaweed), and water, Kelp Noodles are fat-free, gluten-free, and very low in carbohydrates and calories. They have a neutral taste allow for a variety of uses, while their healthful content provides a rich source of trace minerals including iodine, which kelp is well known for. Their unique texture completes the package, making Kelp Noodles a one-of-a-kind healthful and tasty alternative to pasta and rice noodles. Best of all, no cooking is required. Just rinse and add the noodles to any dish and they are ready to eat!

We bought our kelp noodles off of amazon.com and they were about $4.95 a package. These noodles stay fresh for months as long as they are stored in water.

Y-U-M!

Y-U-M!

 I find that these a really great to have on hand when you are looking to make a quick dinner that required little to no preparation. This is what I had for dinner on Saturday night. I had my kelp noodles (which I soaked in warm-ish water to soften up) with my simple pasta sauce, fresh leafy spinach, scallions and white mushrooms. It was scrumptious.

my nutrient packed sunday dinner

my nutrient packed Sunday dinner

look at all those crunchy veggies!

look at all those crunchy veggies!

For dinner tonight I had a huge-mongous salad! In my salad I had spinach, red bell pepper, jalapeno pepper, white onion, tomatoes, cucumbers, radishes, green beans and a whole large avocado. I squeezed half a lemon on top to give it a little extra kick – and I gobbled it all up! This was my first experience with buying radishes from the store and I was pleasantly surprised by the spicy kick that I got when I bit into one.

Our fridge right now is stocked even more than usual with oodles of fresh fruits and veggies. Lately I have been indulging in crisp cherries and peaches. Something fun that we bought at Giant Eagle was a red banana! I have yet to try it yet but I am looking forward to eating it tomorrow.

Bed time for me – I have AP books that need reading. However speaking of AP books I am proud to say that I have finished reading The Cider House Rules.

Michal : )

Leave a Reply

