Organic?

Ahh its finally a gorgeous day in Ohio! The sun is shining, birds are singing and best of all there is no rain!

First things first…

my red banana!

my red banana!

Sorry about the picture but I was hungry and ready to eat this guy – your lucky I even managed to get this one! Hehe!  A red banana is a variety of banana with a reddish-purple skin. Usually they are smaller in size and generally more plump and juicy than your average banana. When red bananas are ripe the fruit is a nice pink color, and the flavor is something similar to a banana with a hint of raspberry. Does this sound good to you? Well it so was! I added it to my afternoon snack which was a big bowl of tasty fruit and it really was good! Just a tip when you are looking for a ripe red banana look for a bright yet dark red peel – if the peel is light then its not ripe. These are definitely worth picking up if you see them for sale in your grocery store.

my mid-morning snack

my mid-morning snack

A picture of what I had for munching yesterday morning. We bought these organic apples from Giant Eagle and I have to say they are way juicier and more crisp than your everyday apples. We try to buy organic as much as we can but normally we are not able to buy organic produce because it is so expensive – however at Giant Eagle a bag of apples was about $5.50 compared to $6.00 for the organic variety.

The whole organic vs. non-organic produce thing has been of interest to me for a while now. When it comes to fruits and vegetables there are two main options available on the mass market : organic and conventional. Organic produce is better for us, because it is grown without chemical treatments or enhancements. But it’s expensive, and you may have to travel farther to get it. There are some fruits and veggies that have more delicate outer skins or thinner skins that are worth buying organic. Check out the list below…

 

The “Dirty Dozen”

  • apples
  • strawberries
  • sweet bell peppers
  • celery
  • cherries
  • grapes
  • nectarines
  • pears
  • potatoes
  • raspberries
  • spinach
  • peaches
  • Foods that have thicker outer skins or peels don’t have to be bought organic – see the list below.

    The “Cleaner Dozen”

  • asparagus
  • avocado
  • bananas
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • sweet corn
  • kiwi
  • mango
  • onions
  • papaya
  • pineapples
  • sweet peas
  • As I said before personally my mom and I do not buy a lot organic produce – the main reason being the cost factor. One thing though that we always buy organic is carrots for juicing. We buy 2-3 big five pound bags at a time! If it were more affordable then I can say that we would for sure. The main thing though that we both like to do is support our local farmers! Not only is it more economical but its better for the planet. This being said however it is better to eat your fruits and veggies whether organic or not than to not eat them at all. If you want a great website for finding farmers markets and organic produce near you check out Local Harvest.

    monday night's dinner

    monday night's dinner

    Last night I got home at about 9:30pm from my driving classes – and boy was I tired and hungry! Lately I have really been craving my leafy greens so that means I have been consuming a lot of salads. Spinach especially! Last night real quick I threw together this tasty creation that had…

    • spinach
    • mung bean sprouts
    • red bell pepper
    • jalapeno pepper
    • cucumber
    • radishes
    • scallions
    • white onion
    • white mushrooms

    On top of all this I sprinkled some carrot pulp that I saved from my morning juice and squeezed the juice from a fresh lemon to give it a little zing. ZING INDEED! This salad was so tasty – but very hot! I think I added a little too much jalapeno but I ate it all anyway. But it did take me a while to fall asleep last night after eating that! On top I also sprinkled a little of my favorite mexican herb blend to give it some more depth. YUM!

    I’m scheduled to drive today with my instructor at 2:30 pm and I’m pretty nervous! Ill let you guys know tomorrow how it goes. Enjoy the sunshine : )

    Michal

    4 comments

    1. Hey… You mentioned potatoes! I like potatoes and I like raw food. But raw potatoes… no. Hm?

      1. Hi – thanks for mentioning this I forgot that I wanted to address this point. The reason I decided to include raw potatoes in my list is that certain types of raw potatoes are actually really good for you because they can have a soothing effect on your digestive tract. Raw potatoes aren’t necessarily poisonous, though their leaves are (so I hear). Stay away from white potatoes, I would stick with raw sweet potatoes. Thanks for bringing up this point!

        Michal : )

    2. Victoria Maxfield · · Reply

      that red banana sounds so good!
      i would love to try one, i’ve never seen one in the grocery though.

    3. A red banana! That looks amazing, I don’t think I have ever seen one here!

    Leave a Reply

