ABU ♥

Good Morning : )

It is so nice out today! I am so glad that I can just lounge about today after I get home from church and the gym. I am on my way to finishing The Three Musketeers and then I’m done with my AP work finally! After I got home from work last night my mom said that she had some surprises waiting for me in the kitchen…

july1609 035

thanks mom!

 My mom is the best. She bought me two kinds of tofu – firm and a cool silken kind that is flavored with vanilla, two bags of beans, soy milk, a bunch of fruits and veggies and So Delicious Dairy-free Ice Cream in chocolate peanut butter. YUM!

home made AB!

home made AB!

Yes finally I have tried to make home made raw almond butter thanks to my girl Heather, and for me it was a labor of love. I thought my poor food processor was going to die out on me. It ended up taking over an hour and I only ended up getting about 1 cup. So what did I do you ask? Thanks to Emily I decided to try and make some ABU. Just by adding a little soy milk I was able to turn my 1 cup of raw almond butter into this…

Delicious ABU

Delicious ABU

Lets just say I have putting this on everything. Its so addicting I cant get enough.

crunchy, sweet and hard to beat

crunchy, sweet and hard to beat

In this bowl I had a nectarine, flax seeds, ABU and raw almonds. I have been throwing all kinds of combinations like this together.

a super scrumptious breakfast

a super scrumptious snack

This is what I had for a snack this morning. A huge peach that we bought from the farmers market, flax seeds, red grapes, bloobs, soy milk and left over coconut from my homemade coconut milk. A little drizzle of ABU on top and I was in heaven!

Now you might have noticed that I have been putting flax seeds on everything these days and here’s why…

Flax seeds are rich in omega-3 fatty acids and a very good source of dietary fiber and manganese. They are also a good source of folate and vitamin B6 as well as the minerals magnesium, phosphorus, and copper. In addition, flax seeds are concentrated in lignan phytonutrients. They are an awesome source of protein and provides lots of healthy fats for the body which are good for your hair and nails. Plus they are super yummy and have a nutty crunch that can be added to anything!

Question of the day – what is your favorite kind of nuts/seeds?

My favorites are almonds and I love sun-flower seeds. They are so versatile and you can get them for a fairly decent price at a lot of different stores.

8 comments

  1. My favorite nuts/seeds = almonds, hazelnuts, brazil nuts, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, cashews, pecans, walnuts, and pistachios.

  2. aww yay for finishing AP summer work! I still have some :\ boo.

    wow your ABU looks fabulous girlie!
    cashews are my favorite. hands down.

  3. Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog, I really appreciate your comment 🙂 Never forget who you really are inside and never let the disorder/perfectionism define who you are as a person. Perfectionism can really apply to so many aspects of life and I find if I don’t think too much I’m okay lol. Easier said than done, right? Sometimes I wish I had an off switch! Don’t think about it too much my dear, you WILL get better 🙂 mmm . . . I’ve been wanting to try that silken tofu creations and pbu. Hmmm . . that’s tough, my favorite nuts are probably almonds but I prefer good ol’ peanut butter. I’m also experimenting with chia seeds 🙂

  4. vanilla flavoured tofu – crazy! everyone loves the abu – yours looks fab!

    i love almonds and sunflower seeds too… when cooking. if im just eating handfuls of nuts, i really love cashews.

  5. lovin that bowl of fruit, ABU, seed goodness! i think overall, my fave is the almond. sliced, butter, raw, whole, roasted, sliced – you just can’t go wrong!

    yay for treats from mom – love that!

  6. […] avocado and french lentils. YUM! Vanilla-Blueberry Parfait My mom and I made parfaits using the vanilla silken creations tofu that my mom bought for me the other day. With some crunchy granola, bananas and bloobs it was a […]

  7. Suasoria · · Reply

    Hmm…pine nuts or cashews, pumpkin seeds.

    So you’re OK eating the flax seeds whole? Most everything I read says they should be ground up since they’re so small they can just pass through you undigested.

    1. Hi there 🙂
      Usually I do eat them whole, I heard that they should be ground up too but I find that eating them whole works pretty good for me. Although maybe I should ground them up… im a bit lazy though hehe. Maybe when i run out ill just go and buy flax meal (is that what it is?) instead!

Leave a Reply

