World Vegetarian Day!

Happy World Vegetarian Day!

World Vegetarian Day is finally here! The holiday was founded in 1977 by the North American Vegetarian Society and kicks off October as Vegetarian Awareness Month. Every year on October 1st, World Vegetarian Day kicks off a month full of potlucks, parties and discussions. It’s a great reason to break out your best recipes and get busy : )

I hope that you are having an enjoyable week, I know that I am. This week is flying by I can’t believe that it’s already Thursday. My homecoming dance is this saturday, I cannot believe it is here but I am so excited to put my dancin’ shoes on! Between college applications, homework, work-work, and all my activities I barely have time to breath. But I don’t mind it in the slightest though, I really do like to keep busy.

Anyhow onward to tasty eat’s!

Earth Mama surprised me with a fresh and juicy papaya from the store last night! I have never had one that was fresh before and it was so good. It was deliciously sweet and juicy. Papaya’s are rich sources of antioxidant nutrients such as carotenes, vitamin C and flavonoids; the B vitamins, and the minerals, potassium, magnesium and fiber. Together, these nutrients promote the health of the cardiovascular system and can also provide protection from different types of colon cancer. That’s one serious fruit! One thing I learned upon researching the papaya is that a papaya’s seeds are edible, although their peppery flavor is somewhat bitter.

september 016

Miss GC  has inspired me. Im riding the snack plate train!

09.27.09 005

 A nice pink plate with fresh papaya, fuji apple and a nectarine.

09.27.09 108

Another delicious snack plate with green pepper and a granny smith apple.

(Hmm sensing a color pattern here!)

On another note as you all know I went job shadowing to a local news station this past Tuesday. I had an amazing time! I learned so much, and I got to see them actually get ready for a daily news broadcast. Everything from preparing the stories to writing the scripts to actually presenting it on television – i was there! They also let me try out my skills telling the forecast on the green screen (luckily not on camera!) and then I got to be in front of the camera and read a story that was actually featured on the mid-day news. How exciting! The whole reason I wanted to job shadow at a new station is because I am researching possible majors that I can explore when I go off to college this time next year.

My plans for tonight include working till 8 o’clock and then studying for a big english test tomorrow.

Michal ♥

4 comments

  1. Happy World Vegetarian Day!

    I love papaya. I actually make a yummy thai/vietnamese salad with green papaya. It rocks 🙂

  2. Michelle · · Reply

    Happy vegetarian day! 🙂

  3. I completely FAILED at this! I had no idea it was World Veggie Day and ate a cheeseburger! I hardly ever eat meat! GAH! Oh well…I’ll celebrate on all the other days I don’t eat meat, like today!

  4. […] also got some fantastic news! Remember how a month or so ago I went job shadowing for a local news station? Well today I scheduled my second job shadowing experience. Where am I […]

Leave a Reply

