Raw Lasagna & Smiley Spoons

Yawn!

I don’t know about you but I slept really well last night. I guess after working a 9 hour shift I was a wee bit tired. I’m still drooling over my latest outing at the FIC, what I would do for a humus wrap right now let me tell you!

I am glad that so many of you had such a positive response to my last post. I was hesitant about posting it at first because I didn’t want to offend anyone, but that I realized that it is important to make my opinions and beliefs known. So to you anonymous commenters and mailers out there if my answer does not satisfy you im sorry, but im not going to change just to please you.   

On a lighter note I still have five days of christmas break left before I go back to school. And I just found out that on monday the 4th my favorite show is starting back up again, Secret Life of the American Teenager. I literally was jumping up and down with excitement I have been such a huge fan of this show since the beginning. Have you ever watched this show?  

     

Raw Lasagna    

Noodles    

1 large zucchini    

Collard greens, finely shredded    

Sauce    

2 pint cherry tomatoes    

4 sun-dried tomatoes (soaked overnight, soak water reserved)    

Oregano, basil and thyme (to taste)   

Salt and Pepper   

Tofu-Cashew Ricotta    

I followed the recipe right out of VCON, but here are two other recipes one using tofu and one using cashews which look promising.    

Assembly    

With a knife or a mandolin thinly slice your zucchini into thin strips. I cut mine into circles, but im sure you could cut it long ways too. Set in a dish and put aside.    

Place cherry tomatoes and 2 tablespoons of sun-dried tomato soak water in a blender, and process until chunky. Add oregano, basil,  salt, pepper and sun-dried tomatoes and blend again. Add water in small amounts until desired marinara consistency is reached. If you like it thicker, add less water, if you like it thinner add a little more.  

In a dish place a layer of zucchini noodles, than a layer of marinara, then a layer of the tofu-cashew ricotta, then another layer of zucchini noodles. Repeat layers until you run out and every few layers add a small layer of shredded collard greens.  

Serves 4-6    

On a little side note the zucchini will lose some of its water so you may have to drain it. It may look like your lasagna is ruined but its okay! Just gently hold your lasagna with a knife or spoon and let the water drain out over the sink.  This dish can be eaten right away, but also tastes better the second day after the flavors have time to marinate.  

This dish also looks a little complicated to put together but it could not be easier and it look beautiful on a table.  

Tofu-cashew Ricotta layer

The finished product

Katie's bowl of yum!

My girl Katie made this delicious variation of my spiced carrot puree. I love the addition of the cinnimon-raisin pb and the carob chips. Double yum!    

new kitchen gadgets

new kitchen goodies

Some fun new kitchen goodies that I got for christmas! Two new knives, a whisk, a cute smiley face spoon, some cookie cutters and a Rachael Ray moppine! I have always been a huge Rachael Ray fan – if only she was vegan! Regardless she has such an amazing and bubbly personality oh and I love her hair. 🙂 My mom also got me a cupcake carrier, a couple bread pans and some new cookie sheets.     

Enjoy your wednesday!

Michal ♥    

Question of the day – Who is your favorite TV talk show host?

I love Rachael Ray, but my girl Tyra Banks is pulling a close second!

10 comments

  1. mmmm! Raw lasagna! I love it….although even as a high raw foodie I tend to shy from cashews. I don’t even have a good reason.

    I’m from goneraw (troublesjustabubble) and I use the sunflower seed cheese recipe from there all the time. It would probably work well for this!

  2. Everyone is making raw lasagna lately. I’ll have to whip some up in the new year.

    And my fave talk show host is Ellen. I just think she’s a trip, and the fact that she is vegan is a plus.

  3. Awh, Michal! Thanks for posting my take on your carrot puree! 🙂 Oh, wow, your lasagna looks so much better than mine. Haha, I will have to try your recipe next time. Nice kitchen gadgets. 😉

  4. mmm wonderful lasagna recipe! I’ve never tried a raw one before. Always love those kitchen gadgets! My favorite would have to be giada, guy or alton. I could watch those shows for hours!

  5. Mmm! Those lasagna looks goooood! I should try making it because it looks easy and you my oven’s dead!

    And the smily face spoon is so adorable! X3 Lucky you got all those!

    I don’t really have a favorite TV host, but I guess if I had to choose, it would be the guy from AFV 🙂

  6. That lasagna looks awesome! And I love Ellen!

    Oh and I found you through Chocolate Covered Katie…I really like your name too! Very pretty!

  7. I’ve never heard of that show, then again, I don’t watch too much TV. 😮 My favorite talk show host would have to be Tyra Banks too.. although I haven’t watched her show in forever. And now she’s ending it. Poo.

    I love your Christmas goodies! Especially that spoon.. it’s too cute. :3

  8. wow your raw lasagna looks SO good 🙂
    hope you have a very happy new years!

  9. Hi Michal!…your lasagna looks amazing, and I want a smiley spoon , too!!!

    Wanted to wish you a very happy and healthy new year, and let you know I tagged you for the Happy 101 award at my blog today:)

  10. Oh yeah! P.S: I’m totally going to make your lasagna!

    And you know how you made oat cookies? I tried making them (bars instead of cookies) by incorporating it in the recipes from the PETA’s cookbook, and it turned out AMAZING! You can eat oats raw! Thanks for your awesome rawness! You really keep me going!

    And Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

