New year, new start!

I loved reading all about everyone’s new years goals.

I know that with a little determination, every single one of those goals that we set can be met and surpassed. So let’s get cracking! I took a mini risk. Today my friends and I went out to see a movie and out to lunch. Instead of going somewhere where I knew what I would order, we went to Applebees. Now while Applebees is no vegan paradise I was pleasantly surprised with that they gave to me. Now paying eight dollars for a salad with a bunch of veggies and some salsa was not ideal, but pushing myself outside of my comfort zone felt good. I took a teeny risk and you know what I wasnt too disappointed.

I also started reading a new book today – Vegan Freak written by Bob and Jenna Torres. Even though I am only about thirty pages into it they have already made some really good points and made me realize that I am not doing all I can to advocate animal rights. I can’t wait to continue reading!

Now for a new recipe which I came up with for my gift exchange with my good friend Sarah.

Cranberry Muffins

1 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup sugar-free apple sauce (you can make your own with a food processor)

1/2 cup sugar or sugar substitute

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup dried cranberries (or other dried fruit)

Assembly

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon together in a bowl. In a separate bowl whisk together the apple sauce, sugar/sugar substitute and the water until just blended. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients and bake in oven for 10-15 minutes or until tops are all golden.

Makes 10-12 muffins

Really simple to make, and no overly complicated ingredients gives you quick delicious muffins. You can also change the recipe by simply combining or adding different kinds of fruits and nuts.

Review Alert!

I was at the store and saw these cute little 100 calorie bites from Raw Revolution! Flavored like Spirulina and Cashew these bars were really tasty. However they were a little bit greasy, and had a sort of film on them that made it quite weird. The flavor over all was good though. Would I buy this flavor again…. probably not. Would I try a product from this company again? Absolutely!

These past couple of days have been so relaxing and I have been able to be in the kitchen a lot. I have a couple new recipes im dying to share which I was able to try out on Earth Mama – she gives them both two thumbs up! A part of me still can’t believe that christmas vacation is going to be over in just two days, and then its back to the grind stone. Hmm… but on the bright side my favorite tv show is starting monday!

Michal ♥

Question of the day – When is your christmas break over? Or when do you finally go back to your regular routine?

9 comments

  1. Good job taking a mini-risk! It’s scary, but you feel better after because you know you accomplished something 🙂

    My Christmas break is technically over today (going back to school on the 4th) Ha ha, I wish it could be a teeny bit longer 🙂

    I never heard of Raw Revolution before…Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough sounds good 🙂 Were they expensive?? Totally want to see them!

    Those muffins are cute! X3 Are they your favorite thing to make?

    And thank you for editing the photo! You can *deff* do it better than me! XD

    P.S: I’m going to make your Raw Lasagna sooner or later! 😀 Keep up your rawness!

  2. my regular route starts on the 7th.. woohoo 🙂

    Those cookies look great! And so do those bars:) great review! xox

  3. I am not ready for break to be over either. 😦 Oh well, it should give me more motivation to get things done! I’ve been lazy this break. =P I can’t wait to see your new recipes. I am going to be trying out some new raw recipes soon, since I have this awesome new raw cookbook!

  4. Hi!

    Oh, my break ends…Monday! Noooooo…just the thought of it makes me sick! Oh well, education is important, education is important…Must remember this xD

    Thanks for the review on the bar! A greasy film? That sounds weird…but I’m willing to try everything with the word ‘bar’ and ‘cashew’!

    xo
    Vanilla

  5. Yay for the mini-risk!! That is awesome! 😀 It’s insane what doing even the tiniest thing different/new can do.

    What’s your favorite tv show? 😮 My regular routine starts up again on Monday.. ick.

  6. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who goes heavier on the fruits than the veggies. I’ve got my fingers crossed that the two of us can better balance them out in the new year.

    I agree that those bars are a little greasy, but they are good to carry on the go. I don’t have much of a selection of raw bars at the grocery store, so these are a good substitute until I can get a better one from a Whole Foods or online store. Even better is when I make one at home; they just don’t last as long as the premade store bought stuff.

  7. i love raw revolution bars!! the choc. raspberry is my favorite bar!! is it weird that I like them greasy? I feel like I am getting good fats whenever I eat them [which I know I am haha]

  8. Your muffins look yummy! Most of the Raw Revolution bars I like!

    Enjoy!

  9. I’ve tried two Raw Revolution Bars (Chocolate Raspberry and Cashew) and both Robin and I thought they were just okay… They were too “potent” to say the least; Too greasy and chocolatey and the flavor was different than what I thought it’d be. It didn’t leave me feeling full and satisfied like other fruit/nut bars either. They were okay but I don’t think I’ll eat them again unless I get them free =P

Leave a Reply

