Ab-solutley Fabulous Week 2

TGIF muffins!

Welcome to week two of the Ab-solutley Fabulous Challenge! For those of you who signed up, how is it going? And for those of you who havent, it’s still not too late. 🙂

No real visual results on my end here yet, but I have noticed that I am feeling stronger and I am now able to run a little longer with my added cardio. (source)

(source)

Week Two Excercise

  • 30 minutes of cardio each day, include one day of active rest (yoga, walking, pilates)
  • Continue to train your core by doing moves such as crunches, the cobraplanks, the hundred, squats, the ballet twist, and sit ups. This week do three sets of 30 reps, five days per week.
  • Add a five-minute warm up and a five-minute cool down to your workouts to stretch out and lengthen your muscles.

Week Two Food

This week continue to eat your healthy fats (olive oil, avocados, unsalted nuts and seeds), plant-based sources of protein (beans, lentils, seitan, tofu, tempeh), fruits, veggies and whole grains (quinoa, brown rice, whole/sprouted grain breads, oats).

But this week I challenge you to…

Start eating breakfast, or a small meal in the morning if you don’t.

  • When you eat breakfast, you are revving up your metabolism to start burning calories. And when you eat breakfast calorie burning is dramatically accelerated. When you sleep your body is breaking down body fat deposits, and that body fat is circulated making it immediately available to burn off for energy. If its not used for energy, then its going to go right back into being body fat.

If you want to drop body fat (which if you want to build strong abs, you do! :)), then eating your breakfast is important. If you starve yourself then what you are doing is breaking down muscle and carbohydrates for energy while your body is storing its body fat stores. Simply put, when you deprive yourself of breakfast your making your body more efficient at storing body fat, instead of burning it.

I know I used to have a real problem eating breakfast, the thought of even eating something at 6 am made me feel queasy. But after I began to encourage myself to eat small snacks such as a banana, apple, or a glass or two of fresh juice I noticed that my appetite was growing. Now I cant imagine starting my day off without my green smoothie!

Some quick breakfast suggestions…

  1. Smoothies (you know I love my green monsters!)
  2. Oatmeal
  3. Bowl of granola with non-dairy milk
  4. Whole grain bread with 2 tbsp of nut butter

And if you just cant eat breakfast in the morning try just grabbing a piece of fruit such as a banana.

I really appreciated all of your input on my last post – Does Size Really Matter. If you havent read it please do and let me know what you think. All of your comments have really got me thinking about how distorted body image has become in today’s society. Go into any bathroom and you will almost always find women and girls bonding over body bashing. Why is this? Why do we constantly feel like we have to make ourselves feel bad in order to develope relationships?

Gabriel sent me this really insightful comment which I wanted to share with you all…

It sounds strange, but when I’m down it helps me to eat a nice, big, clean meal. It reminds me that a full belly can equal a happy belly, not a guilty, uncomfortable one!

Isn’t that a great idea? When your feeling down, instead of dealing by limiting your intake and feeling all funky about food fix yourself a nice healthy clean meal that you can enjoy guilt free. Love this suggestion! 🙂 This is exactly the sort of relationship that we should all develope with food.

Some of my breakfasts as of late…

Carrot-gasm in a bowl topped with chopped bananas and cereal. 

Power green smoothie with granola and chopped dates.

Swirly berry smoothie.

Im eagerly awaiting the arrival of the mail, ive got some really important (possibly life changing!) and fun things arriving. I hope tomorrow is the big day im just getting so darn anxious.

Michal ♥

Question of the day – What is your favorite go to breakfast?

16 comments

  1. Breakfast is my absolutely favorite meal of the day 🙂 I couldn’t imagine going without it, but that’s probably because I always wake up absolutely starving… My go to breakfast is always oatmeal… for the past little while it’s been the same.exact bowl of oats with an apple, raisins, and almond butter 🙂

  2. Oatmeal!

    You know, I know SO MANY people who do not eat breakfast, and I just DON’T get it! Of course, I wake up ravenous, so that may be why… 😉

  3. lol I really dislike breakfasts 🙂 They make me sick! But when I started High School I had to start because I was STARVING before 9 lol. It was pure torture so I started grabbing pb on toast, a random cereal or at least a banana, which wasn’t enough ^^ I’ve been eating oatmeal alot this week for breakfast I looove it! This mornin, I chopped up some apples and loaded it with pb verry tasty! and healthy xD

  4. I am still doing the ab challenge..just using my own workouts. (Stability ball!) And, I agree with you on the body bashing. There’s too much of it. I need to stop doing it myself and get over this distorted body image thing….

    I eat 3 meals a day and snacks in between…but I know if I start restricting more then I won’t gain muscle. Breakfast is a must! It’s my fav. meal of the day.

    Oh, love your carrot-gasm. 🙂

  5. GREAT words girl! SO true about breakfast! i cant believe soo many ppl dont eat it! its my fav meal eva too! i LOVE oats!!! but they gota be topped w. PB..always

  6. Man, I never understand people who don’t eat breakfast!! I wake up so excited about it every morning!

  7. HI!

    I can’t do without my breakkie 🙂 Love oatmeal tooooo much ❤

    Omg, I need to try that carrot puree!! Thanks for sharing!!

    xoxo

  8. CEREAL is definitely my favorite go-to breakfast! Quick and delicious- I just finished a bowl 🙂 Have a great Saturday and thanks for the ab plan!

    1. You LOVE your cereal. I crack up when I see pics everyday.

  9. balancejoyanddelicias · · Reply

    I’ve been doing poorly with the challenge 😦 just can’t find time to do cardio and get bored doing abs work at home. Need to figure something else.

    Recent fav breakfast: toasted homemade waffles.

  10. What a great challenge you’ve got going on. Breakfast is my least favorite and I eat it 50% of the time. I find that when I binge the day before, I skip breakfast bc I’m still so full and disgusted with myself. That would be the perfect time to eat something clean.
    Thanks for the reminder.

  11. Fave breakkie…I admit, I am generally not super hungry in the a.m. I get hungry more mid day so that’s when I start fueling up. But I also keep weird hours with a child so really, when ever i have time and can eat, that’s when I eat 🙂

    Thanks for all your awesome contest entries, too!!!! 🙂

  12. I don’t eat breakfast (instead I drink lots of water/fluid and veggie juice), but I’m in a serious mood for a morning bagel! 😀

  13. […] are you doing on the ab challenge if you signed up? Here are the both weeks one and two it’s not too late to jump in! I took today off from the gym, and am looking forward to […]

  14. I love ‘treating’ myself to a smoothie with fresh berries and honey when I’m feeling down. Not something I usually eat since it takes longer to make but I really enjoy it and it always makes me feel better

  15. […] to week three of the Ab-Solutley Fabulous Ab Challenge (weeks one and two […]

Leave a Reply

