Strawberry Shortcake and Sunshine.

Hello Muffins, and good morning!

I hope you are all still enjoying the sunshine. It is eighty degrees and beautiful here. I broke out the tank tops and flip flops and am already dreaming of summer time. I’m glad to hear that im not the only one out there who still gets an easter basket! And yes, Earth Mama does rock and I tell her all the time. 😛

I cant believe I forgot to mention one of my most favorite easter presents. My grandpa has always been the sweetest (even though he is supposed to be Mr. Macho-Military Dude), and I am what you could call his favorite. Ever since I was young he would always buy my cousins and I little sweet treats, and that’s how we would bond. Well since I went vegan he hasn’t known what to do with me. But on sunday when he was passing out his customary easter treats he had me close my eyes and brought out this…

The worlds largest pineapple!

Okay not really, but it is really really big. And the fact that he remembered, and that he took the time means so much to me. I am just the luckiest girl to have such a wonderful family.

Ive got some more easter pictures for you! For easter this year I wanted to make some yummy baked treats for my family, just to show them how tasty vegan food can be. What did I make you ask? Well I used two brand new recipes, one from a new cookbook I bought… yes I bought another new cookbook. Is it possible to have to many cookbooks? I think I need to enter a cookbook rehab or something because I have a serious addiction!

Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar!

This cookbook is amazing. Genius. Im in love! For my first recipe from this book I decided to make blondies, but I added my own little twist and turned them into English Toffee Blondies. YUM! Blondies are one of my favorite baked desserts, and I had given up sweets for lent so lets just say that I quite possibly ate my own weight in these. 😉 It was oh so worth it.

In addition to my English Toffee Blondie action I decided to make cupcakes using another one of my favorite cookbooks – Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. Strawberry Shortcake cupcakes! Aren’t they cute? I was really pleased how these turned out. These were my own creation which I made using the basic vanilla cupcake recipe, and filled them with a fluffy from scratch frosting. I topped them with more strawberry frosting, and fresh strawberries. YUM! And they were so festive to look at too. 🙂

Both desserts were a really big hit, I am so happy that they enjoyed them!

Today I had an eye doctors appointment, I’m getting glasses! I have never had glasses before so I’m a little nervous, but there are lots of fashionable people who look great rocking glasses. Do you wear glasses or contacts?

Tonight I am going out to dinner and a movie with the Earth Muffin Man, yay!

And on a little off note, I have decided that once I get 50,000 hits on my blog stats I will be holding another giveaway! I just found the most perfect thing today and I had to buy it… and one for myself of course. 🙂

Michal ♥

Question of the day – Did you play with Strawberry Shortcake dolls when you were younger? Who was your favorite?

(link)

I always liked Blueberry Muffin, and then there was Plum Pudding. We never found out for sure whether or not he was a boy or a girl. Controversy!

A Parm giveaway over at A Bitt of Raw.

An artisan coconut butter chocolate giveaway over at Leslie Loves Veggies.

Aaaand Leslie is having another giveaway too for some yummy panda licorice.

24 comments

  1. Oh my goodness- those cupcakes are SO beautiful! 🙂 I have/love both of those cookbooks.

    I didn’t play with the dolls I don’t think- but I had scratch and sniff Strawberry Shortcake stickers!

  2. Aw, that was so sweet of your grandpa! Those blondies look yummy. I really need to get that book to satisfy the cookie monster in me.

  3. I was more of a rainbow brite girl, myself 🙂

    Those look fabulous!

  4. Whoa, that brings me waaaaay back. Totally forgot about those dolls! I don’t remember them much but I’m awash with nostalgia at the moment.

    How awesome you got a pineapple! I love it when people are sweet like that.

  5. If this (http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2675/4123902624_e74321d267.jpg) is Plum Pudding, it’s definitely a girl. 😛

    I don’t remember ever playing with those…I played with Cabbage Patch Kids dolls…and I remember seeing the Strawberry Shortcake show…. yum what a delicious-sounding name.

    I own the Vegan Cookies book but I want to get the cupcakes one too…so yummy!

  6. Awww, such cute cupcakes. 🙂 And, those blondies look so good! Glad to see that you are having a good break!

    Yes, I have glasses and contacts. My glasses are bright orange – love them!

  7. Who wouldn’t enjoy those?? They looks so delicious… I wonder if they would ship well? 😉 haha jk

  8. highonhealthy · · Reply

    Michal.. those cupcakes are amazing! They’re so pretty and I love the strawberries on top, some look like little hearts.

    I actually never had any of the Strawberry Shortcake dolls, just Barbies (whose hair I cut off..) and stuffed animals. Oh, and Lego too. I guess that’s what happens when you have an older brother, you start to prefer the guy toys. :p

  9. You, miss, are a baking fiend and all your treats look absolutely delicious.

    I don’t remember ever playing with Strawberry Shortcake dolls, but I do wear both glasses and contacts depending on the look I want to rock. Glasses can be super stylish and add tonnes of character to your look! Enjoy them and have some fun!

  10. Aww, that’s so cute about your grandpa! I don’t even try explaining the way I eat to my grandparents- all I know is that I don’t eat meat.

    I wear glasses and even though it can get annoying, they look really cute with a lot of outfits! And my BF likes them, haha 🙂

    Hope you have a great Friday!

  11. Jessica Zara · · Reply

    Wow, those cupcakes look too adorable to eat…but I’m sure I’d be able to manage to anyway 😉 You’re a seriously talented baker.

    I’d never heard of Strawberry Shortcake dolls before! I was always too much of a tomboy for things like that…I played with Hot Wheels cars mostly. They do look rather cute though.

    So glad you’re getting some lovely weather ~ sunshine is such a great mood lifter, and pineapple is definitely the perfect sunshine food.

    I do have glasses as I’m a bit short-sighted but it’s difficult because without them things aren’t in focus but with them I tend to get migraines because I’m not quite short-sighted ‘enough’ to need them. You’ll look beautiful either way! I honestly believe it’s just a matter of choosing the right style and glasses can suit everyone.

    Have a great day

    ~Jess~

  12. Holy giant! That’s one big pineapple! How are you going to use it?

    That strawberry cupcake is adorable!! ❤ ❤ Very clever, making it with your own imagination. 😉

    Ooh! How many hits have you gotten so far? Are you close to 50,000? (actually, that sounds like A LOT. Fhew!)

    Never worn glasses, and never played with strawberry shortcake dolls. 🙂 I'm more of a pokemon person, so all I did when I was little was play pokemon! XD

  13. All those goodies look just delish!!
    I actually wear glasses. I only need them for distance so in the car or at the movies, things like that.
    I tried contacts but they were pretty tough!

  14. Oh girl you have been so busy cooking up delicious baked goods! Those toffee blondies look just as delicious as I thought – which is why I’m going to have to wait to make them until I have a reason or I’ll eat my weight as well!

  15. I am super blind without my contacts! I do love spicing it up sometimes by wearing my glasses, but I love sunglasses more so usually I wear contacts.

  16. MICHAL THOSE CUPCAKES are far too cute to eat seriously. in college I was in a sorority who had strawberries as one of its symbolish things and totally gave my ‘daughter’ strawberry shortcake stuff. Haha I was so into Strawberry shortcake growing up.. hello favorite book was even that

  17. Those cupcakes look amazing, yum! I did not play with dolls, always was a tom boy and climbed up trees instead. 🙂 Have fun with the Earth Muffin Man!

  18. Mystic Dolphin · · Reply

    I’ve had glasses since forever they’re horrible! I seriously recomend getting contacts! I’ve had them since December and seriously there amazing! Alot of people complain of them though.. so make sure you know the kind that’s right for you!
    Your food looks amazing btw too 😛

  19. I’ve always been lucky enough to have really good vision and never needed glasses. I hope I stay this way for a long time!

    And those desserts are looking GOOD!

  20. Girl you should get some awesome, funky glasses! They are the best accessory in your wardrobe.

    I loved the Strawberry Shortcake dolls, but I think mainly because they smelled so good!

  21. Saw your profile on another page. Glad I read your informative and well-written blog. Look foraward to following you here. Have a great day! Cheers!

  22. Blondies AND strawberry shortcake cupcakes? Girl, you’ve officially found the key to my heart 😛

  23. I love these beautiful little cupcakes! So cute!!

Leave a Reply

