Mean and Green

Uggghhhh.

That is how im feeling right now. After me and the Earth Muffin Man grabbed take out and went to see the new Alice and Wonderland (which by the way how weird was that, I had never even seen the original so I was majorly confused!) I came home and went to sleep, everything was fine. However I woke up at 2:00 in the morning and had a un-wanted date with the porcelain goddess for the next seven hours. Ick! 😦

At first we believed that it was food poising, but then when I got a massive fever we quickly realized it was the flu. At one point our thermometer said my temperature was 188 degrees! Now that wasn’t even close to being correct, but that is how hot I felt. I slept on and off all day yesterday, and I couldn’t eat anything more than a couple of bananas and an apple.

Lets just hope that I continue to get better today, because I’m working tonight and so over this whole sick thing! What are some of your tried and true feel better tricks when your sick?

Review Alert!

A couple of weeks ago I was informed that I won a giveaway hosted by the lovely Chocolate-Covered Queen, for Vega Whole Food Vibrance Bars. I could not have been more excited – you know I love me so yummy bar action! 🙂

Plus I have heard some amazing things about Vega products in general (case in point I have been dying to try Vega Health Optimizer for ages!)

I chose to receive the Green Vibrancy bar. Each one of Vega’s Whole Food Vibrancy Bars has…

  • 17.5g of sprouts, rich in enzymes and phytonutrients
  • 10g of raw protein for easy digestion
  • 4g of Omega 3 and 6 essential fatty acids
  • 5g of soluble and insoluble fibre (20% of RDI)

And unlike traditional cooked and processed bars, Vibrance bars are 85% raw, alkaline and alive with enzymes, requiring less energy to digest and providing a greater net energy gain. (Whoa that’s one serious bar!)

Clean and green, Vibrance bars contain no refined sugars, oils, gluten or soy and are GMO and pesticide-free. Decadent and delicious, Vibrance bars are available in three scrumptious Chocolate Decadence, Green Synergy, and Wholesome Original!

The verdict? Would I buy these?

You betcha. These are so incredibly yummy, these in particular have a great green flavor. Plus they aren’t greasy, overly chewy or crumbly. And since each bar only contains 200 calories they make the perfect pre or post workout snack. This is one snack that I definitely feel good about eating.

So whats on my agenda for the rest of the day? Well we just got a call saying that my glasses are in so we are going to pick them up in an hour or two. Then most likely I will be doing some more college research (no I still havent been able to make a decision!), and trying to get some more rest before I go into work tonight at 4.

That’s all for me today, I’m going to go and drink a cup of tea and hopefully try to calm down my upset stomach!

Michal ♥

Question of the day – Have you ever tried any products from the Vega line?

Another giveaway from the wonderful Leslie?!

15 comments

  1. Aww, I hope you get to feeling better soon. When I’m sick I just want to drink tea and water while watching movies or some sort of shopping channel (haha)!

    I have tried Vega’s protein powder and it was pretty good but I chose the wrong flavor for my tastes. I love green food bars though and those look delicious!

  2. Oh no, babe! Feel better! Bed is the only thing that I want when I’m feeling bad. Oh and crappy tv.

    Contacts aren’t that bad actually! I used to have such sensitive eyes, the first time I put it my own contacts it took an hour! But now I’ve gotten so used to it. Make sure you show us pics of your new glasses!

  3. totally had those vega bars, can’t say i love them, but they were okay. and free.

    feel better! try taking oregano oil for the flu and eating fresh ginger and making ginger or peppermint tea for the tummy. also fresh garlic helps kill the bad guys in your system.

  4. Aw, sorry to hear you’re not feeling well!! Apples are usually the only food I can stomach on a queasy tummy. Saltines and plain oats made with water are usually a safe bet for me, too!

    I won a Vega giveaway a while back too…the Chocolate Decadence flavor is amazing!! Hope you feel better soon 🙂

  5. Oh no, girl! Sorry that you’re feeling sick. I haven’t had the flu in a while *knock on wood* but I remember it being less than pleasant 😦 Hope you’re back to your happy, healthy self very soon 🙂

  6. hope u r feeling better. i tried those bars before…their good – too bad they r so expensive!

  7. highonhealthy · · Reply

    I’ve tried all three of the bar flavors and I love them all! Although to be honest, they all taste the same to me. 😉 I’ve also tried the chocolate flavored Health Optimizer powder.. and.. I’m not a fan. At all. Tastes like poop.

    I hope you feel better soon! When I was sick I just loaded up on Vitamin C, watched tons of movies and drank Echinacea tea.

  8. Oh, man – flu = no fun whatsoever. I’m sending good vibes your way!! Hope it’s gone in no time 🙂
    I’ve seen a lot of the Vega line lately – and have really been thinking about ordering some!! I love that they don’t have soy, but are still packed full of goodies. SOOO many bars today are packed full of soy protein, which I am trying to limit. You may have been the final convincing factor to “go vega”!

  9. Make Money and save our planet while your at it

  10. I have never tried those bars but have seen them on a lot of peoples blogs. They look so good!! YUM! So happy you won that giveaway miss!

  11. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! GGGGGIIIIIIIIRRRRRRRRRLLLL!!!! ARE YOU OKAY?????!!!

    OMG! I’m sorry for what’s happening to you! I reaaaaaaaalllly hope you feel better soon!!!!!

    My trick? Ha ha, I always tell myself “I DON’T GET SICK!!!”, so I really don’t get sick. 😉 (and when I feel like I do, I tell myself “I’m not sick! I’m just not at my best! I can FIX this!!”) So yeah, I’m not helping, but that’s what I do! 😉 And staying in bed, eating little as possible, and drinking LOTS of water is the best way (other than telling yourself “I’m not sick”)

    Those vegn bars look soooooooo good! I seriously want to try them, but I can’t find it ANYWHERE in my area!!!! (Graaaaaaaaaahhh!!!) I hope I find them soon!

    If I sound hyper, sorry about that. 😉 I just went to this AMAZING event called Vegfest, and I’m just too excited about it!! 😀 I’m making a post about it this week, so stay tooned!!!! 😀

  12. My roommate had the same thing as you all weekend. Seeing her so miserable and gross made me really thankful to be relatively healthy at the moment. Drink lots of liquids and get plenty of sleep, and I’m sure you’ll get back to 100% in not time!

  13. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) · · Reply

    yum these sound so delicious!! i love trying new bars, i’m jealous 🙂

    xoxox

  14. feel better soon, michal!

  15. james5555 · · Reply

    I like those bars you mentioned for convenience and great nutrition. There are some other great fast snacks and meals, i.e. raw food for busy people!

Leave a Reply

