Where’s Michal?

Where in the world is Michal?

Here I am! πŸ™‚

This week has been super crazy now that school is starting to wind down (finally!) and I only have twelve days of me senior year left. WOW! Running to and from school, to work, then right to the gym is totally wearing me out. I’m getting home and getting to bed pretty darn late for this early bird.

Alrighty now let’s get down to business.

In my last post I mentioned my mother’s day feast, so without further adieu I give you my mother’s day 2010 menu.

Mother’s Day 2010 Menu

Asian “Chicken” on a bed of mixed greens with a tangy vinaigrette.

Flaky Pizza Purses

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

“Chicken” strips marinated in a middle eastern dressing, then sautΓ©ed and sprinkled with sesame seeds.

Flaky Pizza Purses from Vegan Yum Yum.

This was my first time working with phyllo dough, and I honestly had a little bit of trouble. The problem I was having was that the earth balance kept on making the phyllo dough too soggy to work with, and it was getting all gummy. In the end I ended up using way less earth balance, and only brushed every other sheet. Does anyone have any tips on working with phyllo dough?

These turned out absolutely delicious, my aunt and I both loved them. However Earth Mama wasn’t too crazy about them since they had tomatoes in them, which she detests.

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes!

Of course no meal is complete without a little something sweet.

I put to use some of the delicious goodies which I won from Leslie’s giveaway a couple of weeks ago.

Review Alert!

While I usually stick to a macrobiotic diet, sometimes a girl has to live a little. I was so excited to be able to try Newman-O’s because I have heard so many great things about them and can’t find them for sale around here. The thing that I totally dig about these are that they are made using all organic ingredients and contain no partially hydrogenated oils or trans fatty acids.

Plus one serving (two cookies) only has 130 calories. However I don’t know if you will be able to stop at just two… πŸ˜‰

Ode to Newman-O’s
You might, m’lady tweak my nose.
You could, m’lord step on my toes.
But Heaven help those poor bozos, who try to filch my Newman-O’s.

Ingredients : Organic Unbleached Flour, Organic Sugar, Powdered Sugar, Organic Palm Oil, Canola Oil (Expeller Pressed), Organic Cocoa, Cocoa (Processed with Alkali), Organic Unsweetened Chocolate, Natural Flavor, Salt, Sodium Bicarbonate, Soy Lecithin, (an Emulsifier)

The verdict? These taste just like Oreo’s! While many people consider oreo cookies to be vegan since they contain no animal products, they do contain sugar that has been processed with bone char. So it all depends on how you feel about that. But Newman-O’s are completely cruelty free and have the perfect texture for baking and milk dipping (no soggy cookies hurrah!) If you are looking for a delicious cookie that is lower in unhealthy fats, and made with all organic ingredients this is it!

They were absolutely perfect in my Cookies and Cream Cupcakes!

Look at the icing… mmm!

I have got to make it quick tonight, I just got home from work and I still have so much to do in order to get ready for this weekend, there is just a whole bunch going on! I can’t say anything and risk spoiling a surprise (better to be safe than sorry!), but I can fill you all in on my weekend plans after tomorrow night! πŸ™‚

Oh and I am a little behind on all of my blog reading, so if I am not commenting as usual I apologize!

Things should slow down around here soon enough!

Michal β™₯

Question of the day – Have you ever tried Newman-O’s?

27 comments

  1. oh i know girl, ive heard so many people call those newman o’s similar to oreos. i wish i could have them if they were wheat free! but i know they are good, i dont think u could ever go wrong with them.. well thats what my mom says (why is it that i cant have wheat but my mom can.. dammit lol).

  2. Yummmyyy, cupcakes! πŸ™‚ I love Newman’s!

    I am just like you: school, work, gym…and lights out when it’s morning (like 1 am!). CRAZY! Luckily I am done working after next week and school is over in 2 weeks! That just leaves me time to cook, go to the gym, clean/organize, and spend a lot of time with Brad. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait!

  3. What a great Mother’s Day feast you put together – it looks great!! And no worries about the blogging – enjoy the last of your high school career. You’ll never be a senior in HS again, you know πŸ™‚ But, can’t wait to have you back, either πŸ˜› Have fun this weekend!

  4. Everything looks delicious!

    When I work with phyllo I use olive oil or canola oil in a spray can. It’s much easier and quicker that way. Also, I don’t spray each layer, only the top one. Then a quick spray before they go into the oven. I haven’t done purses, only triangles but I’m sure it would work just as well.

  5. Those cupcakes look AMAZING! I actually have a bunch of Newman’s O’s in my pantry from a sample package I received awhile ago- I should break into them! Good luck with those last twelve days love!

  6. sagojyou · · Reply

    Welcome back to the blogging world! I missed you!

    Mmm!!! Those look yuu-mm! What was the “meat” you used? The pizza flakes are adorable, and the cupcakes rock!!

    Newman-o’s sooooooooo good! There’s chocolate creme and mint creme too, but I prefer the simple vanilla one πŸ˜€ Now I know one more thing I can send you for your Birthday…

    Ooh! And I got your email (finally!!). I’ll write back soon as I can! πŸ˜€

  7. What a lovely mother’s day spread! Earth Mamma and your aunt were definitely two very lucky ladies! I’ve worked with phillo dough before and haven’t had much of a problem. I don’t think I used very much butter (back when I wasn’t vegan, obvi), though. Either way, your purses look so cute :). I do have two questions for you though: 1) what was the “chicken” and marinade you use? 2) what parts of the macrobiotic lifestyle do you stick to? i’ve been doing some research and really like the limit of sugars and use of whole foods (i do this already.)

    enjoy your last days of school πŸ™‚ && have a lovely day!
    xox

  8. Oh these little pizza purses are darling!
    And the cupcakes!
    Aww, you make such pretty food πŸ™‚

  9. Such a great feast! I’m sure your mother loved it. πŸ™‚

    Did you use the cookies and cream recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World? I’ve been meaning to make those.

  10. Glad you put my giveaway cookies to such good use! I might have to copy you, I still have my box of chocolate-filled ones πŸ˜€

  11. mmm looks like a great menu! The only thing with phyllo is working super quick and keeping it slightly moist. I like the mint newman’s πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

  12. I have tried Newman’s own you’re right!!!! It totally deserves an entire ode dedicated to it. hahah i love the mint and ginger flavored cookies too. So delicious. What a fantastic idea to make it into a cupcake. DROOL!! DROOL!! alert!!

  13. wow both the asian salad and those oreo cupcakes look crazy good darling!! you sure do know how to cook!

  14. Hey girlie!!
    beautiful mothers day eats!!!
    I hear you on the busy time of school-year!!! eeek I can’t find time to post either…but summer is ALMOST HERE!! keep pushing hard, it will be worth it!
    xoxo!

  15. highonhealthy · · Reply

    Everything you made for your mom looks so good! Very professional looking. πŸ™‚

    I’ve never tried the Newman O’s cookies but I did try another company that made a healthy version of Oreos. It’s crazy how similar they taste and look with the only difference being that one is WAY healthier.

  16. Oh my goodness, those cupcakes look like a food coma waiting to happen. YUM YUM!

  17. I wouldn’t be surprised that those cookies taste just like Oreos since they contain a lot of the same very processed ingredients… They make your muffins look cute though.

    It’s good to be busy =)

  18. That is one delicious looking meal! I think Newman’s O’s are great too! Haven’t had them in a long time, but my parents used to buy them and I remember liking them.

  19. Nice spread. It looks as though the phyllo dough worked out in the end. It can be kinda tricky sometimes. I always went easy on whatever fat I was brushing between the sheets. I would also sprinkle sometimes crumbly in as well, like bread crumbs or ground nuts.

    I’ve had Newman Os, but it has been a long time. They do taste like Oreos from what I can remember. Now I am more apt to make the raw version.

  20. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, watch south park online

  21. does that look yummy or what? πŸ˜€

  22. That all looks delicious! Maybe someday my son can make me a Mother’s Day meal… or at least order some nice vegan takeout… πŸ˜‰

  23. Second dress is my favorite! Just sayin’!

  24. justjac · · Reply

    Wow those cookies n’ creme cupcakes look amazing! Glad you’re having fun on your trip!!

  25. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian,Diet Guide!

  26. […] Cookie and cream cupcakes (like I made before for mothers day!) […]

  27. Great article. Waiting for more.

Leave a Reply

