College girl… for the weekend.

Friday… YAY!

Just wanted to post a quick update letting you know whats going on with me!

Today in just a matter of hours I’m going to be heading up to my freshman college orientation. I have to admit that I am getting a little nervous.

How to tell I’m nervous…

  1. I extremely over packed.
  2. I cant sit still.
  3. I cant stop smiling.

Nervous? You know… I have to say im not sure if that is the right word… I’m really excited! šŸ™‚ I cant believe that the time is finally here where im getting ready for college! I’m taking my placement exams today, scheduling my classes and meeting some of my future classmates. Like anyone else though I really hope that I will make a good impression on everyone.

Okay I feel like I’m rambling now… moving along!

On the food front i have been getting back to the good stuff and eating a lot of this…

Edamame.

What is edamame you ask?

In East Asia, the soybean has been used for over two thousand years as a major source of protein. While many people choose to be concious of the amounts of soy that they consume, edamame is perfectly fine. It is the whole soybean, not the processed by-product.

Here’s what you’ll find in a half-cup serving of shelled edamame (or 1, 1/8 cup edamame in the pods):

  • 120 calories
  • 9 grams fiber
  • 2.5 grams fat
  • 1.5 grams polyunsaturated fat (0.3 grams plant omega-3 fatty acids)
  • 0.5 gram monounsaturated fat
  • 11 grams protein
  • 13 grams carbohydrate
  • 15 mg sodium
  • 10% of the Daily Value for vitamin C
  • 10% Daily Value for iron
  • 8% Daily Value for vitamin A

How can you ignore all of that nutrition in one little bean?

Some other things you didnt know about edamame…

  • The word Edamame means “Beans on Branches”
  • Soy protein may help reduce insulin resistance, kidney damage, and a fatty liver.
  • It is the only vegetable that contains all 9 amino acids.

What is your favorite way to eat edamame?

I have been munching on my new favorite granola latley… mmm.

Okay I have to scram, I have to finish packing and then to college I go! Oh and if your curious to what im up to follow me on twitter. šŸ™‚

Product reviews coming your way!

Michal ā™„

Question of the day – Do you remeber your college orientation? Is there anything you would change about your experience? Or like me if you havent gone yet, are you nervous?

12 comments

  1. I can never sit still, so I must just be excited… about life. Haha
    Have a great weekend! It will be so much fun! šŸ™‚

  2. Oh my goodness how exciting! You’re gonna fit right in in college and I just know it’s going to be a total blast for you!

  3. I love edemame! And COLLEGE is amazing, hope you have a blast girl šŸ™‚ Let us know how it all goes – sometimes orientation can be boring – but EXPLORE too šŸ˜€

    Happy weekend!
    Meg

  4. p.s. and by boring – I just mean all the speeches and fillers šŸ˜‰ everything else rocks!

  5. Hi girl!!!!!! Haven’t read your blog in ages!! (I haven’t updated in a while too Lol)

    Edamame is amazing!!! I love ’em!!! (at first, I thought you were holding some nice, green-colored M&Ms!) šŸ˜€

    My orientation is in August, and because I just graduated a week or so ago, it doesn’t seem to be real yet. So I’m not really nervous, but I will be once the time around it comes and when I’m there, but I’d be excited as well!! šŸ˜€

  6. I never went to my college orientation, but I also didn’t live on campus (stayed at home for college). I do have to say though, that it really would have helped to meet more people!
    The first year is so exciting! Though yes, from what I heard, the unfun part of orientation were all of the lectures telling you what not to do and where to go. They are helpful, but not so fun to listen to. Bring coffee!
    And, of course, have fun!

  7. edamame is so good either by itself or in a salad. great way to get some protein in a healthy little snack šŸ™‚

    ā¤

  8. I remember everyone was so excited to be there at my orientation. People were checking each other out and being super friendly because everyone is new and nobody knows each other.

    I have been loving edamame lately. I like it with a sprinkle of nooch, or a spoonful of my lemon, miso, tahini dressing. yum!

  9. Orientation here at Carnegie Mellon is a huge deal. It’s a full week, right before classes start, and everything is structured. We get to know our floormates really well, and party like we’ll never party again. We still come back for Orientation as upperclassmen, but now it’s an excuse to hang out for a full week before classes get back in to swing. I wish I could do it again, so enjoy the start of so many new things!

  10. Yay so happy for you! College was a great part of my life and I know you will have a great time šŸ˜‰

  11. Ooh, how exciting for you! I’m sure you’ll make a wonderful impression and have a blast šŸ™‚ I remember mine – there was the boring talks, but also plenty of time to meet new people and explore. And of course, signing up for classes is exciting, too.
    I’ve never had edamame before!

  12. Good luck at orientation! I’ve actually had two- one when I started off at Carnegie Mellon, and another when I transferred to NYU. Both were great, though I think the CMU one was more fun just because it was all freshmen and we were so excited to finally be at college! Hope you have a great time.

Leave a Reply

