Dorm Rooms & Daiya

I’m so glad that you all enjoyed the pictures from my camping trip!

These past couple weeks i have had so much fun shopping for my dorm room. I am so lucky to have a room mate who want to color coordinate everything! It might sound a little childish but ever since i was in eighth grade i had my heart set on having a cool color coordinated dorm. I have been waiting and waiting and now its my turn to make it happen! I guess it is my way to finally have my room the exact way that I have always wanted it, and its happening now!

One of the things that I still have on my to purchase list is a vanity. Being a girl I have TONS of products, and having a way to neatly organize them is a must for me! Otherwise getting ready to do anything would take ten times longer that it would have to. CSN has tons of vanities to choose from, and all kinds of other cool stuff that would make any room more comfy.

I fell in love with this one. So pretty!

Anywho I still have some stuff left to buy including…

  • Lamps
  • Telephone
  • Rugs
  • Wall Art

and..

A LAPTOP!

Now I dont know much about computers but i have heard tons of different bits of advice.

“Get a macbook. Dont get a macbook. Get one with tons of storage space. Dont forget to check your interm core processor. Blah blah blah.”

Its too much! Not to mention confusing. To be honest my first instinct is to go with the cutest one i can find.

Like this one!

Sometimes I have to wonder whether im 18 or 8 hehe 🙂

Do you have a laptop? What brand do you have?

One good thing I found out though through my orientation is that we get a student discount on Dell laptops, so perhaps ill look into getting one of those bad boys.

Now onto some food!

Delicious ooey gooey pizza.

A picture I found that I totally forgot about.

A month or so I was able to finally try Daiya after it took the vegan food world by storm. And oh my gosh it was amazing! It was melty, stretchy and oh so tasty. I haven’t had such delicious and real tasting cheese in so long. Have you ever tried Daiya?

Now some more recent (and healthier!) eats.

Oatmeal with fresh dates and a glob of peanut butter.

Fruit and soy yogurt parfait with hempseed granola.

Yummy green smoothie made in my fantastic new blender!

The past week or two I have been doing a TON of reading, thinking and planning. And im starting a whole new fitness plan to get me in the best shape of my life, after all you are only young once! I had health, and I took it for granted. I put it on the back burner while I studied and worked and did everything for everyone else. I didnt treat my body its best and in result I put on a couple of pounds and started feeling a little sludgy. Rats.

But I’m looking forward to the challenge, and I cant wait to share with you all my new plan which I’m calling Campus Cutie Challenge!

Hehe 🙂 I just had to call it something like that!

Michal ♥

Question of the day – What is your favorite piece of furniture. Why?

11 comments

  1. mmm your eats look amazing as always! 😀
    I would totally go with a Dell – I have a MSI, not as popular, and its crashed on me 2x already since March of 09. NOT COOL! Also, Dell is what the school uses, so its more than likely a good bet 😀
    My favourite piece of furnature is my bed, no question lol. It’s big. Comfy. And I can sleep on it. =)

  2. Haha! Love that picture of the fluffy laptop. I have an Asus Eeepc netbook that I LOVE because I carry it around everywhere, but in college I had an HP. And then a Dell. And then a Dell. And then an Asus. I graduated college in 4 years- Can you tell I’m a laptop murderer?
    My favorite piece of furniture is probably my bed because it’s so comfy. Actually I just love my bedroom. It’s painted Tiffany blue and it’s impossible to wake up grumpy with Tiffany blue walls!

  3. I love that you and your roomate are really trying to make your room special. It is your home away from home after all. As for laptop advice, whatever you choose, make sure it’s compatible with your school’s system. Naturally I’m a bit biased with macs (I’ve been on a mac since 2 years old—literally!), but I can tell you it’s a complete headache to be on a different platform than my school. Ask around and see what your school and the other students use. Checking the library is a fast way to find out. Good luck with the comp search; it should be lots of fun!

    I love the cute name for your challenge! Having a good school life is more than just good grades or being into a sport, it’s about *feeling* good and treating your body right. I’m all for being mindful of that!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  4. I love that vanity! It’s very glamorous…
    My favourite piece of furniture is definitely the coffee table my partner made for me. It’s made out of an old rimu (native timber) door- I love how it looks and even more so because he made it for me.
    Definitely make sure your lap top has lots of storage or you’ll end up like me and have to upgrade, even if there is nothing actually wrong with it!
    Good luck with the rest of your shopping, sounds like fun to me!

  5. Dell laptops are really ugly and bulky! They are pretty cheap, but as a girl who like cute things I’d advise you to stay away from them ;-). I got a Macbook when I was shopping for college, and still using it after 3 years! I used to be a PC person, but ever since I got a Mac I’m hooked!

    Isn’t shopping for college fun? Ah..I miss those days.

  6. YAY FOR COLLEGE!! labtops RULE. they really save your life too!! i LOVE my mac!!

  7. That vanity is too cute!
    Yeah, I am pretty clueless with laptops. I have an HP and really like it!

  8. I just tried Daiya the other day and could barely tell the difference! It was de-lish!
    I actually just discovered your blog and couldn’t be happier! I’m a new-ish vegetarian and found it nearly impossible to find any student vegetarian or vegan blogs.

  9. i have LG but theres quite a few good brands out there!

    i wish i had a dorm room experience..im so creative and NEEd some good outlets to be creative!

    haha i love boa feathers on EVERYTHING!

  10. I’m really glad that your childhood dream came true! 😀 See, my philosophy is this: if you believe in that something is going to happen, and if you believe in it strongly (especially imagining it in your mind; have a clear image of it), it will come true! I have to say, that’s how I got to be a better person. (me too, in 8th grade, something “clicked”, and I wanted to be a better person than I was then. So I read A LOT of books, learned more about everything that’s everything, and here I am today, FOR SURE being a better person than I was back then! And I’m looking forward to being an even better person than I am now!):D That’s the fun about life!

    Wall art? What kind of art are you looking for? Because if you want to, you can either 1.) Have one of my art projects (that I seriously don’t need) or 2.) have me draw something for you! For 1, I can send you pictures of my projects and for 2, you can give me an idea, and I can draw it for you! (ooh, this actually sounds really fun!!) XD

    I’ve never tried Daiya before; they’re so expensive!!! D: I flipped out when I first saw it at WFs! But, Michael got me Cheese and (!!!) Pepperoni Tofurky Pizza!!! (vegan, of course!!!) I’m so psychied up to try it!!! I’m glad you had an amazing pizza!

    And me too! For the last few weeks, I’ve been reading like CRAZY!! (and I even bought a few books for crying out loud! And I never do!!)And it’s so funny, because I was going to start morning exercise starting tomorrow with Michael! 😀 (great vegan minds think alike!)I’m looking forward to hearing what the Campus Cutie Challenge is all about, and if it sounds amazingly fun (wait, anything you do is amazing) 🙂 , I would totally like to join! 😀

    My favorite piece of furniture is a bed 🙂 Good thing to sleep on, and it’s very comfy! 🙂

    (lastly, sorry for the super-long post! I’m just excited to getting in touch and talking to you again!)

  11. Late comment, sorry…

    I have a mac book that I took to college. I think you can get a college discount and you can def get a free ipod touch with it if you buy it for school.

    Dorm decorating is so exciting! I’m moving into a new apartment and I’m super excited to redecorate soon too!

Leave a Reply

