Clean Eats & Carrot-Cake Oats

Who is ready for some super exciting news?

Well your going to have to wait till the end of the post to find out… hehe πŸ˜‰

I’m sneaky like that I know!

I was really interestead to read all of your comments on yesterday’s post about Eating With Enjoyment. Each tasty little morsel that you put in your mouth is a reason to celebrate! Keep your thoughts and opinons coming, you know im always listening.

I have been doing a lot of reading lately and recently picked up a copy of a book called “The Eat Clean Diet.” I have heard about this book for months since I am a huge fan of Oxygen magazine, so I finally decided to purchase it. I am in love! It isn’t a diet at all, the title is very misleading. It is all about eating clean foods, the foods that you know you should be eating but aren’t.

One thing that appeals to me most is the body beautiful formula..

10% training + 80% nutrition + 10% genetics = beautiful body.

Say what now?! When I first read this over I thought that there must be a typo. I mean… exercise is what counts when shaping a sculpted figure right? Well, wrong… sort of. While exercise is important to building a new healthier you, you are not going to feel or look great eating sludgy food. When you exercise you are breaking down muscular compounds, and then re-building them using the food that you consume for fuel.

Makes sense right?

Well that being said who in their right mind would want to spend eons in a gym only to have any results hindered by the sludgy non-foods you are eating. What a MAJOR waste of time. For real. And to think I was doing just that. For a few months between March and May I was exercising more than ever (read : CARDIO) and still not seeing the results that I wanted. In fact I actually gained some weight, which went on as pure fat.

Check out the new lunch box in my favorite shade of green.

Its perfect for toting around my healthy meals all day long.

Not that I have been incorporating more healthy foods into my diet again, and I’m varying my workouts and doing way less cardio (hurray!) and feeling and looking better than I ever have before.

What a perfect platform for my Campus Cutie Challenge! (Post coming soon!) πŸ™‚

Here is some new recipe action FINALLY after not posting one for a couple of months. I have been eating tons of yummy oatmeal lately, usually for breakfast and its always paired with a lean protein (almonds, natural nut butter ect.) One thing that I have noticed right away from eating oatmeal regularly is that things have become more… um.. fluid? Yea maybe that’s TMI but its true, and I feel way better because of it!

Carrot Cake Oatmeal

1/2 cup steel cut oats
1 cup soy milk
1/2 cup shredded carrots
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 pinch black pepper
1 pinch fine sea salt

Directions

β€’ Place all ingredients in a small pot on the stove; stir gently to combine.

β€’ Close the cover, set medium heat and let cook for 3-5 minutes string occasionally until its done.

When it’s done, top your portion with nuts, coconut, and a little soy milk if you like.

Yum yum!

In my bowl I also added 2 tablespoons of flax meal (ground using my magic bullet), and 1 tbsp of vanilla rice protein powder. It ain’t pretty but its oh so good! What do you like to put in your oatmeal?

Okay and now for the moment you have all been waiting for, I promised you some super exciting new right. Okay well here it is. You all know how I have been taking Zumba classes for almost a year now right? And that it has become such a huge part of my life because not only is it keeping my physically fit but dancing and moving my body that way is PURE JOY for me.

Well… I’M GETTING CERTIFIED!!

I have been thinking and talking about it for a while now, and the time just feels right. I looked into it and there is one certification class that is open and I’m going to register for it tonight. I cannot wait, one of my dreams is finally coming true. (Well on september 19th it will be anyway!) πŸ™‚

Yay!

Michal β™₯

Question of the day – Have you ever heard of Clean Eating? Do you eat clean?

21 comments

  1. skinny101grly · · Reply

    The oatmeal looks YUM! There is actually a Clean Eating magazine I’ve picked up a couple of times (at Borders) with some great recipes. The book looks interesting, will check it out!

  2. Vanilla · · Reply

    I want to read this book! It’s so rare, a book that isn’t just about ‘diet’ x(

    Aww lovely oats! I made an awesome bowl yesterday, with steel cut oats, chocolate chia seeds, soymilk, egg white and topped it with almonds, coconut and chocolate protein icing!! So good!

  3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) · · Reply

    very interesting about the 10% fitness- i mean, i know that if you eat like crap all the time then the fitness part doesn’t really matter, but i feel like if you eat the right amount of calories & work out that the workout should account for more.. maybe not though? i’m so confused now!! hahaha. anyways, glad to hear you are feeling so great right now- that’s awesome. I feel better when I eat ‘cleaner’ too as long as i’m getting in enough calories!

    xoxooxoxx

  4. wow congrats about getting certified!! that is AWEEESOME girl!!! LOVE the carrot cake oats! ive yet to try!

  5. highonhealthy · · Reply

    Hoooold up a second! You’ve found that oatmeal is making your more “fluid”? I think it’s the same for me! I’ve been eating it every day and noticing.. changes, but I had no idea what it was from. If it’s the oatmeal, very cool!

    Congrats on soon becoming a Zumba coach! That’s awesome and if I lived near you I would definitely take your classes. πŸ˜€

    I’ve heard of that Clean Eating book but I haven’t picked it up because I wasn’t sure how vegan/vegetarian friendly it was. So.. I’ve kind of been avoiding it. But if you’re liking it then it must be good!

  6. ~Jessica Zara~ · · Reply

    I’m 100% with you on the clean eating: last summer I gained a lot of weight despite exercizing for over 2.5 hours a day, almost all of which was cardio. I was eating far too many ‘healthy’ gluten-free vegan cookies and cereals, which are basically just refined sugar with a healthy label. Not that they’re not fine in moderation, but I was having multiple servings a day with very little protein in my diet also. Needless to say, both my athletic performance and figure suffered…plus I felt like the crap I was consuming.

    At around that time I also got comments akin to the one you received at the gym…people kept saying how ‘soft’ I was getting and how flabby my abs looked. People like that have no right to judge beautiful girls like you…to be honest, you’re more than cute enough for your campus just as you are.

    Congrats on the Zumba decision: I would love to be a Body Pump coach but there aren’t any certification courses anywhere near me and they’re so expensive too!

    ❀

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxx

  7. Wow, Michal! I haven’t commented on your blog in FOREVER! I am so sorry. I am actually in Argentina right now and today I had a lot of time to just relax, so I have been playing catch up. I hope you are still following me at foodforpeace.wordpress.com πŸ™‚

    Anyway, I totally know where you are coming from with the “clean eating” approach. I am trying to do the same thing. But, making sure I am getting more protein and limiting the extra carbs. I also realized what a difference weight training does for the body. I used to be a cardio-aholic too. It did NOTHING for me except burn the muscle that I was trying to maintain. Now I am creating a balance between the two and am loving it. I take fun classes for cardio instead of pounding out minutes upon minutes on the elliptical or other cardio machine. And, I spend 3 days lifting. Lifting is so much fun and I actually like the feeling of being sore afterwards. It means that I am working hard and my muscles are building!

    I am REALLY interested in that book. Are there a lot of recipes? Or is there a separate recipe book for it?

    Your oats look so good! I think I will have to try a version of that when I get back to the states. I am thinking some overnight ones would be good too. I LOVE overnight oats, especially when I am craving something like cereal, but want something less processed and more filling. Oh, and oats in the morning make me more “regular” too. Haha, I don’t think it’s just you! πŸ˜‰

    And, congrats on the Zumba, girl! I knew you would do it if you set your mind to it! I am hoping to do BodyJam certification, but I don’t know if it will fit into my schedule yet. There aren’t any training camps available yet, so it’s up in the air right now. However, I am going to start saving money for my yoga certification. I hope to have enough money by the end of next summer to begin my 5 month training! πŸ™‚

  8. balancejoyanddelicias · · Reply

    yeah~ i have that book too and the recipe book, I like it a lot. simple rules easy to follow, pretty much what I’d eat anyway πŸ™‚ I don’t know if 80% is nutrition, but I guess it’s really important.
    congrats on certificating on Zumba! πŸ˜€

  9. Yay!! Congrats on getting certified!!! πŸ™‚
    I cheated and scrolled to the end of the post first. See my awesome patience skills? πŸ˜‰

  10. You’re getting certified? That’s so awesome!!!! XD Now you can come over here to teach zumba, or even teach it at college!! πŸ˜€

    Oaties…I gave ’em a try, but it’s not really working for me… *sobb* 😦

    I’ve seen the book before, but I didn’t get it because I wanted more books that are “green” or “veg*n” πŸ™‚

    And cute bag! What is up with you and green x white polkadots?!?! πŸ˜€ You have way too many of ’em! πŸ˜€

  11. Carrot cake oatmeal…love it…love carrot cake!

    Yes I have heard of Clean Eats, was always curious about it.

  12. I agree with that ratio. As I always say, you can’t outrun a bad diet. What you eat is most important, especially for weight loss. Like a couple other people have said, I actually often notice that I look a little worse when I am doing a lot of exercise because my appetite ramps up in conjunction, and you can eat more calories in five minutes than you can burn in hours. I think exercise is important for bone density, mental function, stress reduction, etc., but diet is always #1.

  13. I hate when people call lifestyles ‘diets’ haha. Just because diet has such a bad connotation these days!

    I LOVE your oats recipe. How come I never thought of that?!

  14. I really want Terry Walters cookbook about clean eating.

  15. YOU ARE GETTING ZUMBA CERTIFIED???! HOORAY! Michal, I am so happy for you! πŸ˜€

    I wonder if I should do the same, sometimes, but then I think, “No. I couldn’t be the Zumba teacher. I don’t do everything just right, and I need my little water bottle breaks, and…” I have all kind of doubts. Blah. But perhaps I’ll get crazy brave one of these days and go for it too! πŸ™‚

    I am so happy for you, Michal! I really am! I only wish we lived closer so that we could Zumba together! πŸ™‚

  16. I eat pretty much clean, maybe too clean, so now I’m learning how to incorporate more other foods in my diet. But I do love healthy food, oatmeal, nut butters, fruit and veggies…
    Congrats on Zumba, that’s so great!

  17. The Eat Clean Diet is the number one book I recommend to people as a starting point to clean up a diet. I love all of Tosca’s books and actually have been able to raw-ify some of her recipes and/or dressings… yummy!

  18. […] you all so much for your congratulations on finally deciding to get Zumba certified. I cant believe that its finally happening! September 19th cannot come fast […]

  19. […] of fitness. Its always good to have goals. One of mine was to get certified in Zumba. I can almost check that one off (on september 19th!) Recently I have been thinking about another one. As you all know one of my […]

  20. […] Its just a little something to remind me to never forget my own dreams. For example like someday owning my own Zumba studio or competing in a fitness […]

  21. […] Perhaps a bowl of my Groovy Green Oats, or Carrot Cake Oatmeal? […]

Leave a Reply

