Funday Sunday!

Happy Sunday!

Another week has flown by, and I’m still diggin the college life. But first off I wanted to thank you all so much for all of your well wishes on my Zumba Certification last week! It was one of the most amazing days, and thinking about it still makes me smile! πŸ™‚

On the Zumba front I have some exciting news. I am now teaching my very own classes twice a week! And I taught another impromptu class this past friday. It is such a blast. I have both boys and girls who are coming back class after class, and loving it. They even have favorite songs that they are continuing to request. YAY! It is still such a dream come true for me.

The only thing that I am having trouble with, is I am having a little back pain. I was doing some kick boxing, and I think I pulled something in my lower back. It hurts really badly, and I’m not sure what to do. I took the day off today from the gym, and I’m hoping that I will be back in action tomorrow since I have a class at 9pm. Do you have any tips on how to deal with body soreness and back pain?

Review Alert!

Since it seems like now I am always on the go, I have been eating a lot of quick to go meals, including bars. Before I left for college I had the opportunity to pick up a few of these bad boys from the grocery store.

The Wai Lana Yogi company makes tons of yummy bars, but I chose to try the Nana Banana flavor. Each pack comes with two mini bars, and each one is a serving. One bar contains 110 calories.

Ingredients : Dates, Almonds, Banana, Vanilla Extract and Vitamin E.

The verdict?

Eh. This bar was okay. It had a good flavor, but it had a bit of a strong bitter taste. I am thinking that it might have something to do with the added vanilla extract. Also I wasn’t crazy about the higher caloric content, with two servings per pack you areΒ  tempted to eat both! I would be interested in trying more flavors from this company, but I don’t think I would try this one again!

I also had the opportunity to try a Think Fruit bar in Chocolate Pomegranate Power.

Money shot.

The verdict?

I really enjoyed this bar! I thought it had a nice chocolate flavor, but I loved the hint of pomegranate. It made it way more interesting than your traditional bar. I would definitely love to try other flavors!

Anywho this week is jam packed for me. I have sorority recruitment this week, which is going to be taking up a lot of my time. I do not know if I am going to be joining a soroity, but I am really excited to do some networking and to meet some new people. I also have MIDTERM’S! AHHH! Today I took 13 chapters of notes for my nutrition science class, and did tons of reading. I have a group presentation on tuesday, and then midterms on wednesday and friday. Wish me luck!

Oh and I finally was able to catch up on my google reader! Yahoo! I went from over 100 to wait for it.. 128! YES! Along with that, three loads of laundry and room cleaning I am feeling very productive.

Michal β™₯

Question of the day – Are you part of a sorority?

8 comments

  1. Congrats on your certification! It sounds amazing. I want to do it soon. I just have to find time now. πŸ™‚

  2. Girl those bars look amazing!
    As for your back – go easy, maybe try one of those beanbags you throw in the microwave?
    So happy for you as far as college and your classes with Zumba goes! xD

  3. Before I transferred, I was in a sorority for three years. It’s definitely not for everyone and it can get dramatic sometimes, but honestly I made my best friends there. Even though I’m at a different school now, I still talk to about 10 of my sisters on a fairly regular basis, and I’m going down to visit in a few weeks. Have fun with recruitment – any chapter would be lucky to have you! ❀

  4. highonhealthy · · Reply

    Congrats on your zumba certification!! I’m so proud of you! You look great. πŸ˜€

    I hope your back feels better soon. 😦 Is there anyone that can give you a massage? Massages do wonders for my back pain!

  5. Bliss Doubt · · Reply

    I was in a sorority and then I de-pledged. I still have mixed feelings about it. One does tend to be in a group of friends, or a clique, naturally, just with friends who have similar interests, whether in or out of an organized group, but I decided I didn’t want to be in something that officially excludes people. I never really regretted it.

    I’m not recommending for or against. It’s just how I felt.

  6. hello!This was a really fabulous blog!
    I come from itlay, I was fortunate to discover your subject in yahoo
    Also I learn much in your blog really thanks very much i will come every day

  7. Girl, with back pain I’d go see a doctor ASAP!! Your back is connected to pretty much everything and is one of the most difficult parts of the body to fix correctly, so I’d see a doc and make sure everything is okay!!

    Sororities…not for me, but a lot of my best friends are in them and love it. No harm in checking it out!!

  8. Sagojyou · · Reply

    Girl, that first picture just FLOODS me with your joy!! I can super-tell that you were having A LOT of fun!!! (and it’s a cute picture, too!) πŸ˜‰

    And where/how do you find all these awesome bars??? I swear, you encounter AWESOME bars ALL THE TIME!! Do you have a secret or something????

    Think Fruit? Is that company vegan? The last time I checked, their other flavors (brownies I think) wasn’t vegan. Hm.

    Holy crudola you’re busy!!!! Good luck with everything!!! (and what’s a sorority??)

    That’s just so cool how you’re teaching zumba!! (and you get paid, right? Because it’s a job. And I have to ask: How much??) Do you teach people that are older than you?? If there’s ever a chance for you to come to the Seattle area to teach/spread zumba, TELL ME because I AM GOING TO GO!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

