Excuse me I just snickered..

Hi hi sugar pies!

Christmas is getting so close, I am so excited!

You might have noticed that the Earth Muffin blog has been going through some changes. I have been experimenting with creating a new header and playing around with layouts. You like? You know I love to hear from you! ūüôā I have got lots to do in order to prepare for christmas still. Presents to wrap, a holiday menu to plan and friends and family to catch up with. Are you all ready for the holiday? I am thinking for my menu this year I am going to turn to one of my favorite cookbooks Veganomicon. I love it, but I have to admit it is one of my less frequently used cookbooks that I have on my shelf. Hopefully I can rectify that soon!

Last night Earth Mama and I finished decorating for christmas and it looks so beautiful. That is one thing I love about christmas time, the snow, the lights, and all of the decorations make everything looks so grand and pretty. One thing that still needs purchasing is a new coffee table for my dorm room. After stubbing my toe one night and giving myself a nasty bruise, I broke the leg on our table. Owie! I have been looking at all of the coffee tables sold by CSN Stores,  and they have so many!

I think I have found the perfect one though! This table can be turned both ways so you can use it as a coffee table or a computer desk. How nifty! This would be perfect in my dorm room!

A few weeks ago I had a chance to make Snickerdoodles using a recipe that I found in an old Martha Stewart cookbook and modified. This was my first time making Snickerdoodles and they turned out great! Perfectly soft with just a little but of crunch.

Snicker my doodles (aka Snickerdoodles)

1 Cup Sugar
1/2 Cup Earth Balance
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
1 Prepared Ener-g Egg-Replacer Egg (or 1 flax-egg)
1 1/2 Cups Flour
1/4 tsp Cream of Tartar
1/4 tsp Baking Soda

Baking Instructions

Cream together sugar, vanilla extract and earth balance. Prepare the Ener-G Egg by following the package instructions (1 1/2 tsp powder whisked with 2 tbsp hot water until foamy) or use one flax egg (1 tbsp flax meal with 3 tbsp water), and add one to the Earth Balance and sugar mixture. Whisk it Until it’s light a fluffy.

Mix dry ingredients together. Add 2/3 of the dry ingredients to the sugar/earth balance mixture and whip until combined. Add in the remaining flour and mix by hand. Cover the dough and refrigerate for 30 minutes to one hour.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Once the dough is chilled, line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Make balls of dough using about 2 tablespoons of dough for each cookie, then roll each ball in cinnamon sugar.

Bake at 375 for 10-13 minutes for chewy cookies, 15 minutes for crunchy. Carefully remove the cookies from the baking sheet and let cool for a few minutes before serving.

Enjoy!

Tonight I am co-teaching a¬† Zumba¬†class with one of my old instructors, I am looking forward to it so much. I havent had a chance to see her in months so this is going to be one heck of a reunion. I am actually a little nervous because I have never co-taught a class before, and I really want to do well so I don’t let her down. It’s going to be one great night!

I’m off to go start putting together a playlist for tonight’s¬†class, I’ll let you know how it goes tomorrow.

Enjoy your monday ūüôā

Michal ‚ô•

Question of the day – What is your favorite type of cookie?

4 comments

  1. Such a neat looking table! It really is perfect for a dorm room.

    Snicker my doodles, haha I like the name. And I’m sure they taste amazing as well!

  2. sugar cookies !!!!

  3. Bliss Doubt · · Reply

    Those cookies look delicious. I’m glad you’re having fun decorating and baking.

    The question, “are you ready for Christmas” should really be “are you ready for Christmas to be over?” I’m not particularly religious, except as a pagan, but to me it all goes by too quickly, the pretty lights everywhere, the fragrant christmas trees, the parties, the fudge, cookies and nogs, and here in Texas, the occasional cold weather. Christmas day is actually kind of an anti-climax. It’s the season itself that has all the fun.

    Hope your holiday is the best.

  4. […] Comments « Excuse me I just snickered.. […]

Leave a Reply

