Christmas 2012

I don’t know about you but I had the best holiday that I have had in a while this year. So many wonderful memories, so many wonderful people, and so much delicious tasty food!

This year in addition to doing a lot of cooking for my own family, I was excited to have the opportunity to cater for a family of 25 who was interested in the macrobiotic diet principles! So I guess you can say that for a whole week I was a proper lady and spent a lot of time in the kitchen.

There was of course a lot of this..

wine

And a lot of this..

IMG_2598

Wine aside, lets continue onto the foodstuff shall we?

For the first time I made a vegan cheesecake – HOLY SWEET MOLY. YUM! It was an incredible hit, I only got one piece and the rest was gobbled up by the family. Definitely going to put this recipe in the to make again box.

IMG_1690

IMG_1707

I also made Chocolate Mint Brownies using this recipe which I got from VegNews. Delicious! It was actually requested that I make a second batch to send up to friends/family in Michigan.

IMG_1699

Anyone up for some homemade pecan pie?

In addition to lots of yummy desserts I made a bunch of main and side dishes which included..

  • Cauliflower Mashed Potatoes (using this recipe which I modified to make vegan)
  • Green Beans Almondine
  • Sweet Potato Casserole
  • Vegan Shepard’s Pie (using this recipe)

Annndddd quite possibly my new favorite thing to make : FUDGE!

Making all of this required marathon energy so of course I had oodles of coffee..

coffeeee

And when all was said and done I had this little nugget snuggled up next to me to keep me company..

sleepypuppy

I hope you all had the most wonderful holiday and new year!

IMG_3127[1]

Me and my favorite cousin!

Here’s to 2013 and all of the wonderful adventures that it brings!

Michal

2 comments

  1. You look cute, as always! And your food pics look delish! Way to go–fixing and serving up all that vegan fare! Yummy! (Makes me wish I was there!)

    1. Thanks val 🙂 Its funny, I didn’t realize how much I missed being in the kitchen until I got back in it!

Leave a Reply

