Im catching spring fever… or not.

TGIF!

I think I had spring fever today, the sun was shining and the sky was so blue. Aaaand then I slipped and fell in a big ol’ pile of slush and was brought back down to earth. Whoops. 😉 What a way to start off a friday huh?

To warm me up though I made another bowl of my new favorite miso soup – which I have named “Miso Happy Soup” because it couldn’t be easier to make, and it makes my stomach oh so happy when im sipping on a bowl.

Miso Happy Soup

1 cup water

1 tablespoon mellow white miso

1/2 medium carrot, sliced thinly into strips

2 tablespoons of both green peas and yellow corn

1 ounce firm tofu cubed

1/2 medium sweet potato, sliced and cubed

1/4 cup onion

1/2 clove garlic, crushed and minced

salt, pepper (to taste)

cilantro for garnish

Assembly

Bring water to a low simmer on your stove, stir in miso until well combined. Adding the sweet potatoes, carrots and onions first let simmer for about five minutes until soft. Add in your garlic, salt and pepper and continue to let simmer. You will have a really nice and fragrant broth. Add in your tofu and let simmer for a minute, and then finally add your peas and corn and continue to let it simmer for five minutes.

Pour into a bowl and serve! It makes about 1 cup and 1/4 of soup, perfect for a single serve. 

Let me tell you I could eat bowl after bowl of this soup and not get tired of it. It has such a warm flavor and one little bowl is packed full of all the good stuff that you need including…

  • Beta carotene from the carrots and sweet potatos which promotes a healthy immune system, and protects cells from free radicals.
  • B12, zinc, manganese and copper from the miso.
  • Onions help control blood sugar and are very rich in chromium, a trace mineral that helps cells respond to insulin, plus vitamin C.
  • Green peas which have 8 vitamins, 7 minerals, dietary fiber and protein. They are also high in folic acid and vitamin B6.
  • Yellow corn has significant amounts of fiber and helps to speed up your metabolism.
  • Raw garlic is packed full of protein, potassium, Vitamins A, B, B2, C, calcium and zinc and many others.

Can you believe that there is all of that goodness in one bowl? How can you not make that!

A delicious bowl of carrot-ey goodness using my new version of my carrot puree. I mixed in some yummy toppings including dried coconut, organic cranberries and two tablespoons of almond butter. Um can you say yes please!

I want to apoligize on the delay about the ab challenge post – it is taking way longer than I thought it would to set up! Im in a bit of a rush tonight, but I will have it up tomorrow. 🙂 Thanks for your patience!

Dont forget to enter my giveaway if you havent already! It ends sunday night!

Michal ♥

16 comments

  1. Carrot puree looks amazing!! What a great idea. We will blog about your giveaway tomorrow ; )

  2. That carrot puree looks just like carrot cake batter! Yurm!!!

  3. Eep! Thank you, thank you for the miso soup recipe 🙂 I’ve been really curious to try miso soup, and you’ve left me no reason not to… I’ll be trying this within the next few days for sure.

  4. I really want to make this soup, but the only miso I have is dark miso. That probably wouldn’t have the same flavor, would it?

    Don’t worry about the ab challenge, girl. I know how hectic life can be. I will answer your email this weekend!

    Sorry to hear about you falling in sludge! That’s always horrible. 😦

    One more thing: your carrot puree looks reallyyyy good. I need to have that again soon. I DO have some carrots to use up.

  5. Yum! Miso happy to see your soup. Miso happy to eat your soup. Gotta love the miso 🙂

  6. I’ve never cooked with miso, but I’ve been meaning to for awhile and this looks delicious! I’m bookmarking it now! Thanks for the recipe and have a great weekend!

  7. I love miso!! I have some paste in the refrigerator and I had a bad experience with it (miso+peanut butter+tomato sauce+ garlic= BLAH BLAH BLAH!!!) so I’ve been reluctant to try more recipes with it.
    Yours looks so easy though, I think I can get over that bad memory.

    😀 Mae

  8. I totally forgot about the miso I have stuck in the back of my fridge – I’m totally going to make a bowl for dinner now!

  9. MMmmmmm! That soup looks so good! There’s no reason I couldn’t make that! Sometimes I get so lazy, or I make food prep into a bigger deal than it really is. But I think I could cook this up without getting discouraged. Thanks Michal! (The title is very witty and cute, by the way!)

    🙂

  10. I DID make your Miso Happy Soup! Except that I personalized it and put my own spin on the ingredients and ratios. But at it’s heart, it was your recipe. And it was very good! Thank you Michal! It was just the perfect meal for me tonight! Love! 🙂

  11. That sounds like the start of my day today, I am happy the soup cheered you back up 🙂

  12. […] falafel with my homemade tahini dressing. Lately I  have been all about super quick meals (like my Miso Happy Soup!) and snacks that I can just throw together because I have been so […]

  13. […] Along side my tea sandwhichs I had a nice bowl of my Miso Happy Soup! […]

  14. […] any one of my recipes and blog about it (some ideas could be Miso Happy Soup, Carrot-gasm in a Bowl, Take Me on a Date Cookies or Green Pudding!) FIVE BONUS ENTRIES FOR THIS! […]

  15. […] I have been missing the food from home! Nothing to me says winter like sweet potatos, miso soup and smoothies. Well maybe not smoothies so much but after not having one for months on end I am in […]

Leave a comment