FIC & fun with friends

Hi there 🙂 

I just got home from having one fun-filled day with one of my besties. After getting an early start we headed out and did some post christmas shopping and then stopped at my favorite vegan spot – The Flaming Ice Cube. I’ve been there many many many times before – but a new time equals new food right? 

My friend and I decided to do a fun little christmas gift exchange with completely handmade gifts. I knew right away that I was going to make her some delicious vegan baked treats. I made the low-fat banana bread from VCON and a recipe I tweaked for muffins, and I added dried cranberries and nutmeg. 

Cranberry Muffins

 

VCON Low Fat Banana Bread

 

The finished product

 

I was so happy with how this basket turned out. I filled it with all kinds of goodies including vegan energy bars, tea and some pop tarts. I’m really glad that she like it. Now onward to the food! 

My friend Sarah chose to try the new Italian Panini which vegan pepperoni, salami and turkey topped with tomatoes and italian dressing. She let me try a bit and it was so yummy! The flavors melted together and were warm and rich. 

 

 

I chose to have the Humus Wrap which was garlic-parsley humus, cucumbers, tomatoes, green peppers and greens all rolled in a sun-dried tomato wrap. This sandwich was so delicious. I loved the humus – It wasnt as heavy as I was used to eating and it tasted really good when paired with the sun-dried tomato wrap. 

 

 

Dessert was a must of course! 😉 

Sarah opted for the Molten Lava Triple Chocolate Cake which was so savory and had chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate. With warm ghirardelli chocolate melted on top it was a warm piece of heaven. 

 

When they told me they had some fresh Peanut Butter Crunch Bars made I knew what I was going to have for dessert. 

 

 

Sarah and I

Afterwards we watched Angels and Demons which we both have been dying to see for months. It was good but we were a little disappointed, there were so major inconsistencies with the book which we hated. 

One thing I wanted to talk about though real quick is that I don’t eat like this all the time. I rarely go out to eat and if I do it is at the Flaming Ice Cube or my favorite mexican spot Chipotle. I’ve gotten a few emails and comments asking “Well if your high raw…” or “Why would you put this in your ‘temple'”. I wanted to address these comments head on. I eat what makes me feel my best. Sure I feel great eating a high raw diet. I’ve been 100% before and I enjoyed it, but thats not where I am at in my life right now. Enjoying my time with family and friends is what is important. So if were going out to eat then im going to enjoy myself. Now Im not going to throw caution to the wind and order anything deep friend in oil, but for petes sake if I want a panini then im going to have one and not feel bad about it. I’ve talked before about getting caught up in the whole raw food dogma. But to me thats not what is important. Doing and eating what makes your body feel good is whats important. Afterall we are all different, and what may work for one person might not be the best thing for another. 

Michal ♥

Question of the day – Have you ever had a book that you love made into a movie, that you dont love so much?

Leslie Loves Veggies giveaway.

Katies Wild Bar giveaway.

Kettle Worx giveaway over at I run because I can.

17 comments

  1. Your food looks delish!

    Enjoy!

  2. WOw, there is so much to comment on here …its all so great. The wrap and dessert look wonderful!
    I think all books are better than the movie truthfully…Lord of the Rings…hands down…the books are fantastic…i only watched a bit of the first movie, so i guess i cant really say for certain..but just didnt click with me…the words are far superior.
    Have a nice day. You eat so well !

  3. aww fun! I love days filled with good things to eat and do. Of course friends and family really make it awesome.

  4. Hey, I agree that you should do whatever you want to do and whatever you are happy with. I find most balanced people do best when eating high(er) raw and exercising – and eating lots of cooked foods can be addicting and, well, as time goes on your raw intake also goes down as you crave more salt, fat, sugar, grains. But it’s your life and we’re happy to see you smile!

  5. You are so right! Eating what makes you feel good is the way to go. I eat high raw at home, but when I go out to eat I deviate from raw a little bit, but always stay vegan. It’s not a big deal, just as long as I don’t eat something fried or something that will upset my stomach.

    That food at FIC looks so good! I HAVE to eat there someday. Bloggie meetup in the making, yes please? 🙂 Maybe in the summer? Or, if not, perhaps next fall when we go to college. But, it MUST happen. Haha

  6. I don’t even know how to express what I’m feeling when I look at your food pictures. If it were possible to rip food out of computer screens..

    I’ve heard from many people that “Angels and Demons” was quite a disappointment although I have yet to watch it. Most of the time though, it comes as no surprise that the movie fails to live up to the book.. I know I’ve been disappointed often. However, if you have looow expectations, then you can’t be disappointed! Wait..

    “Doing and eating what makes your body feel good is whats important.” So true. I’ve tried going %100 raw and while I enjoy and like the results, it’s not something I’m ready to do for life.

  7. Good job about your post. You made it extremely clear about where you stand, and it is sending a strong message. I really like how you make yourself clear. And I have to say, I think that what you are doing is better than what the majority of people are doing; you are eating very healthy and you’re vegan/high-raw. That is better than being an omni and overeating, eating out all the time. I really like it.

    Going back to food topic: The chocolate cake looks aweeeeeeeeeeeeeeesome!!! Totally jealous, and those crunch bars look deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelish!! Is Sarah vegan? It’d be cool if you can covert her into one!! XD

  8. I hate it when movies kind of ruin books. I think Harry Potter is one. But I did love LOTR!

    p.s. I LOVE your attitude on food and eating. I think that’s a great way to look at it, esp in social situations.

  9. I need to make these muffins! Where is the recipe??

    I am drooling over them over here!

    XXOO

  10. That all looks so delicious! Especially those PB Crunch Bars … cravings!

  11. Girl, I heart your blog.. so cute!! That hummus wrap looks amazing.. so healthy! 🙂

  12. I love the name of that restaurant! It looks so yummy, too. And what great goodies you baked up! I would LOVE to receive that.

  13. […] I guess after working a 9 hour shift I was a wee bit tired. I’m still drooling over my latest outing at the FIC, what I would do for a humus wrap right now let me tell […]

  14. The Da Vinci Code !!!!! The book was absolutely outstanding, but the movie left something to be desired! Also, could you recommend a healthy munchie for a baby (Allie) who should not have wheat,eggs,milk,citrus or,of course, sugar. The cookies she has (not from Erin or me!) have wheat 1st, then sugar and molasses, too! In the garbage with them !!!!!!! Lemme know…………..

  15. […] for a new recipe which I came up with for my gift exchange with my good friend […]

  16. Congrats, Michal! Happy to see you stand up for yourself… Why should you feel guilty of something or forced to please strangers from the internet anyway? Like you said, what’s important is to eat and do what you want and enjoy =) Merry Holidays!

  17. […] famous peanut butter crunch bar from the Flaming Ice […]

Leave a comment